Home Analysis A list of Star Indian Cricketers that missed out on BCCI’s annual...

A list of Star Indian Cricketers that missed out on BCCI’s annual contract

(Pic Source: BCCI/Getty Images)

While the BCCI announced a many percentage increases in the retainer fee for many international Indian players for the year Oct 2017 to Oct 2018, you can’t help but feel for the ones who missed out.

Yuvraj Singh once the formidable part of the side has fallen off the team’s requirements. Yuvi last played a game for India in last year’s ODI tour of West Indies. And a comeback looks unlikely as well. But, even if Yuvraj Singh doesn’t play another game for India, Yuvi will go down as one of the greatest limited overs cricketers the world has ever seen.

You can understand why Indian cricket has moved forward from Amit Mishra. He never really became the bowler India wished in him. And now coming close to the finish for Amit, India have found a young world class wrist spinner in Kuldeep Yadav.

Youngsters like Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer have missed out more because of the other candidates for the contracts. They have a lot of years ahead of them.

BCCI announces new annual contract system for Men & Women Team; Full Details Here

Mandeep Singh and Dhawal Kulkarni are fine young batsmen and fast bowler respectively, but they have been injured a lot of late and so you can understand why they’ve missed out on others.

Shardul Thakur though is an interesting exclusion. India has earmarked him as one of the backups to Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bhumrah and yet, he has missed out for some reasons. I guess, the selectors and the board have their own understanding of his situation.

Jaydev Unadkat as well another fine prospect who adds left arm variety to India’s limited overs bowling stocks has gone down the same path as of now.

Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar are again the cases of two young cricketers and selectors & the board wanting them to reach higher.

Mohammed Shami has been a noticeable absentee but that is purely down to the legal tussle he’s going through right now with his wife. And the Board has smartly not included Shami before the issue resolves clearly.

Here Is List: Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohammed Shami, Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Amit Mishra, Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu