Home News Bangladesh women seal their maiden Asia Cup title with thrilling 3 wicket...

Bangladesh women seal their maiden Asia Cup title with thrilling 3 wicket win against India


The Bangladesh women stunned the favourites Indian women in the finals of Women’s Asia Cup T20 played at Kinara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur just a few moments ago. Bangladesh captain won the toss and restricted the strong Indian batting line-up to just 112 for 9. While chasing, they lost wickets but held their nerves to steal a famous win.

Bangladesh captain Salma Khatun won the toss and elected to field first. The Indian openers Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj could not score easily. Left-handed Smriti Mandhana was run out for 7 runs. The Bangladesh spinners put pressure on the Indian batters. At the end of 6 overs, Indian women’s team scored 21 for 1.

After the power play overs, Deepti Sharma who was sent at number 3 played a poor stroke and was dismissed for 4. Mithali Raj could not score many runs scoring just 11 runs. Anuja Patil was dismissed obstructing the field. Veda Krishna Murthy and captain Harmanpreet Kaur added 30 runs for the 5th wicket.

While the Indian women’s team lost wickets, Harmanpreet Kaur played a captains knock and reached her half-century off 39 balls. The Indian captain Kaur was the last batter to be dismissed for 56. At the end of 20 overs, the Indian women’s team posted 112 for 9 in 20 overs.

Chasing 113 to win, Bangladesh openers Shamina Sultana and Ayesha Rahman started off to a good start scoring 33 runs in the first 6 overs.

After the power play overs, Poonam Yadav struck by dismissing Ayasha Rahman for 17. Both the openers added 35 runs for the opening wicket. In the last ball of over, Poonam Yadav struck again dismissing Shamina Sultana for 16.

The Indian bowlers put pressure on the Bangladesh batters with good attacking bowling. Poonam Yadav dismissed Fargana Hoque for 11. Nigar Sultana and Rumana Ahmed added 28 important runs for the 4th wicket. Poonam Yadav dismissed Nigar for 27.

Experienced Rumana Ahmed played an important knock scoring 23. With 9 runs off the final over, Harmanpreet Kaur dismissed Sanjida Islam and then a brilliant throw from the deep run out Rumana Ahmed. With 2 runs required, Jahanara Alam took 2 runs to help Bangladesh women to win their maiden Asia Cup title with a thrilling 3 wicket win.

This will the first time that the Indian women’s team did not win the Asia Cup.

Bangladesh Women 113 for 7 in 20 overs ( Nigar Sultana 27, Rumana Ahmed 23, Poonam Yadav 4/9) beat

Indian Women 112 for 9 in 20 overs ( Harmanpreet Kaur 56, Veda Krishna Murthy 11, Kubra 2/23, Rumana Ahmed 2/22) by 3 wickets.