Home IPL BCCI Announces Squads For Women’s T20 Challenge Match

BCCI Announces Squads For Women’s T20 Challenge Match

(Photo Source: BCCI/PTI/ANI)

Women’s T20 challenge is all set to be played at the iconic Wankhede stadium, Mumbai on May 22nd ahead of IPL Qualifier 1. This match will be played based on IPL guidelines.

Meanwhile, the full squads for this match have been announced today. Several Indian stars including Mithali Raj and Veda Krishnamurthy have been included as a part of this historic game.

The teams have been named IPL trailblazers and IPL Supernovas. Smriti and Harmanpreet will lead the respective squads and it will be interesting how International stars blend with the Indian flavour to make this game a successful one.

Danielle Wyatt, Ellyse Perry and Mithali will be playing under Harmanpreet, the Indian T20 skipper while Suzie Bates, Alyssa Healy will represent Smriti’s Trailblazers. The match will be played at 2:00 PM and the players are expected to reach India this week.

Yesterday, many international players expressed their excitement in the social media to play this game which is first of its kind by the BCCI.

Vinod Rai, the CoA Cheif also said that the success of this game might be pondering BCCI to include the Women’s IPL as a part of the Indian summer in a couple of years.

Please find the squads below :

IPL Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (c), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha

IPL Supernovas: Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk)