Home News Two senior players make a comeback in Sri Lanka Test squad for...

Two senior players make a comeback in Sri Lanka Test squad for West Indies Tour

(AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena)

The Sri Lankan Cricket Board have announced 17 man squad for West Indies tour. Sri Lanka will play 3 days warm up a match from 30th May which will be followed by the first test to be played at 6th June at Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad.

Dinesh Chandimal has been named as the captain for this tour. It marks the return of all-rounder Angelo Mathews and Surgana Lakmal who have been declared fit for the tour. Both the senior players had a fitness test and the experienced duo would be looking to make their mark on this tour.

The third test played at Bridgetown, Barbados from 23rd June will be a day-night test match. Mathews has been suffering from injuries and played his last test match on the Sri Lanka tour of India. Mathews suffered an injury in the 3rd test match against India in New Delhi from December 2nd, 2017. The all-rounder also missed the Nidhas Trophy involving India and Bangladesh played in March this year.

Sri Lanka visited Bangladesh for 2 match test series and won the series 1-0. Dimuth Karunathe will miss the West Indies due to an injury. Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Roshen Silva, Dhanajya de Silva, Mahela Udawatte, Mathews will do the job of batting line up.

The pace bowling department comprises of Surgana Lakmal who bowled brilliantly in the test series against Bangladesh. Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara and Ashita Fernando are other bowlers support Lakmal.

Experienced Rangana Herath will lead the spin bowling department along with Dilruwan Perera. Akila Danajaya who had a good debut against Bangladesh, young Jeffrey Vandersey complete the spin duties.

Dinesh Chandimal led side won the two match test series against Bangladesh 1-0 and would be looking to continue the winning momentum in upcoming test series.

Sri Lankan test squad for West Indies test series:  Dinesh Chandimal (C), Mahela Udawatte, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Danajaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Ashita Fernando.