Home News VIDEO: Lt. Colonel MS Dhoni receives Padma Bhushan in army uniform

VIDEO: Lt. Colonel MS Dhoni receives Padma Bhushan in army uniform


7 years ago, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni the Indian Cricket team won their second World Cup title by beating Sri Lanka at iconic Wankedhe Stadium, Mumbai. Today, former Indian captain received the Padma Bhushan from President Ram NathKovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.

Padma Bhushan is an award that is given to people who have done well in respective fields from different states. It was a memorable moment for the former Indian captain MS Dhoni who has done so much for Indian Cricket as a captain as well as a player.

MS Dhoni also received the prestigious Padma Shri, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and today another feat in his cap which is Padma Bhushan. He led India to win 3 major ICC titles, including ICC World T20 Cup 2007, ICC World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013 held in England.

The former Indian captain is the second player from India to receive the Padma Bhushan award. MS Dhoni honored with the honorary rank of Lieutenant Colonel on 1st November 2011. Apart from MS Dhoni, Indian Billiards or Snooker player Pankaj Advani was also awarded the prestigious Padma Bhushan award.

MS Dhoni has won many awards including ICC ODI Player of the year in 2008 and 2009, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award in 2007 and Padma Shri award in 2009. He came to receive the award as an army man and got the prestigious award from the President.

He still plays an important part in the Indian Cricket team as a wicketkeeper and has done much for Indian Cricket since making his debut. With 2019 World Cup coming up in England, MS Dhoni advice to the youngsters while keeping and also to Virat Kohli will help team India.

Padma Bhushan to Shri Mahendra Singh Dhoni

President Kovind presents Padma Bhushan to Shri Mahendra Singh Dhoni in Sports. One of India's most successful cricket captains, MS Dhoni is only Indian captain to win all three ICC limited-overs trophies

Posted by President of India on Monday, April 2, 2018

Many other Indian sportspersons like K Srikanth were awarded Padma Shri this year.