Home Mumbai Cricket All you need to know about the T20 Mumbai League

All you need to know about the T20 Mumbai League

Everything about T20 Mumbai league

(Photo by T20 Mumbai)

T20 Mumbai

After a successful first edition, the tournament calls for a second one. T20 Mumbai is an initiative to give budding Mumbai Cricketers a platform to showcase the special talent they possess. Performance in such leagues can help them get a spot in the bigger leagues.

Triumph Knights Mumbai North East won the inaugural edition as the tournament (Photo by T20 Mumbai)

Shivam Dube (Shivaji Park Lions) who was the man of the tournament last year got a whopping bid with the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Performances of Shashank Singh (Triumphs Knights Mumbai North East) and Shubham Ranjane (ARCS Andheri) landed them a bid with Rajasthan Royals.

Here is Team India’s 2019 World Cup Schedule

Two New Teams and a Revamped Format of T20 Mumbai League

Due to the great success achieved last year, two new teams have been added this year. Aakash Tigers MWS and Eagle Thane Strikers are the two new teams. With 8 teams the format of the tournament has modified.

The teams have been divided into two groups as follows

Group A Group B
Aakash Tigers Mumbai Western Suburbs (ATMWS) SoBo Supersonics (SS)
Triumphs Knights Mumbai North East (TKMNE) Shivaji Park Lions (SPL)
Eagle Thane Strikers (ETS) NaMo Bandra Blasters (NBB)
North Mumbai Panthers (NMP) ARCS Andheri (AA)

In the league stages, each team will play 5 matches, 3 matches from the teams in the same group and 2 matches from the teams of the other group. Then the top 2 teams in the respective groups then would play the semi-final (A1 v B2 and B1 v A2). The winner of each semi-final will compete in the final.

5 Players to watch out for in the Mumbai T20 league

T20 Mumbai Trophy (Photo by T20 Mumbai)

When does T20 Mumbai start and where are the matches held?

The T20 Mumbai league season 2 starts on 14th May 2019. The finals of the same would be played on the 26th May 2019. All the matches of the season would be played at the Wankhede  Stadium.

The full schedule of T20 Mumbai league can be found as follows-

  1. ATMWS v TKNME – 14th May, 3:30 pm
  2. AA v SS – 14th May, 7:30 pm
  3. ETS v NMP – 15th May, 3:30 pm
  4. NBB v AA – 15th May, 7:30 pm
  5. TKMNE v SS – 16th May, 3:30 pm
  6. ETS v ATMWS – 16th May, 7:30 pm
  7. SPL v AA – 17th May, 3:30 pm
  8. NMP v NBB – 17th May, 7:30 pm
  9. TKNME v ETS – 18th May, 3:30 pm
  10. SS v ATMWS – 18th May, 7:30 pm
  11. NMP v AA – 19th May, 3:30 pm
  12. SPL v NBB – 19th May, 7:30 pm
  13. ATMWS v NMP – 20th May, 3:30 pm
  14. SPL v TKMNE – 20th May, 7:30 pm
  15. SS v NBB – 21st May, 3:30 pm
  16. AA v ETS – 21st May, 7:30 pm
  17. SS v SPL – 22nd May, 3:30 pm
  18. TKMNE v NMP – 22nd May, 7:30 pm
  19. NBB v ETS – 23rd May, 3:30 pm
  20. ATMWS v SPL – 23rd May, 7:30 pm
  21. A1 v B2 – 24th May, 7:30 pm
  22. B1 v A2 – 25th May, 7:30 pm
  23. Final – 26th May, 7:30 pm

Where to watch it in India?

The matches will be telecasted on Star Sports 2, Star Sports 2 HD and Star Sports 3. It can also be streamed online on Hotstar.