Home News Ranji Trophy 2017/18 Final: Dhruv Shorey’s unbeaten century gives Delhi the upper...

Ranji Trophy 2017/18 Final: Dhruv Shorey’s unbeaten century gives Delhi the upper hand on day 1

(Pic Source: PTI)

Vidarbha took on Delhi in the 2017/18 season Ranji Trophy finals played at Holkar Stadium, Indore. It was a good day of cricket as Faiz Faizal won the toss and invited Delhi to bat. Delhi lost 4 wickets quickly for 99 runs. Dhruv Shorey is still not out 123 with Delhi at 271 for 6 at the end of day 1.

Vidarbha captain Faiz Faizal won the toss and elected to field first. The debutant Thakare dismissed K Chandela for 0 in the very first over itself. The experienced Gambhir and Dhruv added 29 runs for the second wicket before Wakhare bowled Gambhir for 15 runs. Vidarbha bowlers created pressure on Delhi batsmen with good disciplined bowling. Nitish Rana and Dhruv added 35 runs for the third wicket. Thakare dismissed Nitish Rana for 21 runs. Delhi went on the lunch break at 89 for 3.

After the lunch break, Vidarbha struck again dismissing Delhi captain Rishabh Pant for 21 runs. Dhurv Shorey looked in good touch and completed his half-century in 145 balls. His partner Himmat Singh played with positive intent. It was a great session for Delhi as they scored 91 runs for the loss of 1 wicket.

In the final session, Himmat Singh completed his half-century off just 60 balls. The dangerous partnership between Himmat Singh and Shorey was broken by Gurbani. Himmat Singh was dismissed for quick fire 66. Both of them added 105 runs for the 5th wicket. Dhurv continued his brilliant batting and then reached his century off 225 balls. Manan Sharma was dismissed for 13 runs adding 38 runs for the 6th wicket.

Vidarbha took the second new ball but could not take any wickets. Delhi ended the first day on 271 for 6.

Delhi 271 for 6 in 88 overs (Dhruv Shorey 123*, Gurbani 2/44, Thakare 2/65)