Home News Rohit and Shami back into the T20 team, Sanju Samson dropped

Rohit and Shami back into the T20 team, Sanju Samson dropped

India cricketers celebrate a wicket. Credit: Twitter

India’s first overseas consignment of the year will be to New Zealand as the Indian team will play 5 T20 Internationals , 3 One Day Internationals and 2 test matches in a span of 2 months in New Zealand.

India have already defeated Sri Lanka in the three T20 series as the hosts blew away the islanders in both the completed games after the first T20 in Guwahati was washed off due to damp pitch.

In big news Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami are back into the team after both the key players were given a break from the T20 series against Sri Lanka.

India cricketers celebrate a wicket. Credit: Twitter

Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur who performed really well in the series against Sri Lanka have been given another chance in-order to prove their mettle against the Kiwi’s in the five match T20 Series.

Shivam Dube finds a place for himself after Hardik Pandya failed the fitness test and was removed from the India A team to New Zealand.

Shikhar Dhawan also found a place for himself after he showed signs of comeback against Sri Lanka in the third T20 in Pune as the opener scored a quick fire 50.

Ravindra Jadeja and Washington Sundar were also retined and would be given a run in the T20 series as both of them have consistently performed in the limited overs series.

Sundar has been the key bowler for Kohli as he has been effective with the ball in the powerplay overs.

Sanju Samson who played his second T20 after five years was dropped from the team as India went only with one wicket keeper in Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul could well be a back-up keeper for the Indian team.

Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer were the other batsmen who found their names for the T20 series against New Zealand.

T20 Series Team against New Zealand:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Shami.