Home News Rohit Sharma excluded From Test Squad For Afghanistan Test

Rohit Sharma excluded From Test Squad For Afghanistan Test

(Photo Source: AFP)

The BCCI has announced a 15 member squad for one-off test match to be played against Afghanistan from 14th June to 18th June at Bangalore.

Ajiyanka Rahane has been named as the captain of the test squad in the absence of Virat Kohli. Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay the opening options for team India.

Karun Nair would be making a comeback in the test squad after some time. Cheteshwar Pujara, Karun, Wriddhiman Saha will complete the middle order. Hardik Pandya would do the duty of all-rounder spot.

Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav would complete the pace bowling department. Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin will do the job of spinners job.

The Indian captain Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Parthiv Patel has been rested for the one-off test match against Afghanistan.

Karun Nair will do the duty of 6th batsmen in team replacing Rohit Sharma. Wriddhiman Saha would be making a comeback into test side missing the second and third test match against South Africa in South Africa would do the wicketkeeping duties.

Dinesh Karthik or Parthiv Patel would not be included a backup wicketkeeping option. India will play one off historic test match against Afghanistan. Afghanistan was granted the test status in June 2017 where they were made full member nation along with Ireland.

It will be a great moment for Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman to bowl against Indian batsmen. With the way they are bowling in IPL 2018, they would be hoping to magic. It will a good test for Indian cricket team to play against Afghanistan before flying to a long 2 months tour to Ireland and England.

Virat Kohli will not be playing County Cricket for the full month of June. Here we look at the Indian squad for a one-off test match against Afghanistan

Indian Squad:  Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rahane (C), Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur