Home Feature IPL 2020: Top 3 New Picks To Watch Out For In Royal...

IPL 2020: Top 3 New Picks To Watch Out For In Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore Predicted XI Schedule
Royal Challengers Bangalore

When we talk about Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) the first name that comes to our mind is that of their captain Virat Kohli. He has been associated with the Bangalore franchise ever the inception of the IPL in 2008. He took over the captaincy from Daniel Vettori in 2012 and has had average success. They have qualified for the playoffs twice in last seven years, that also includes them finishing as runners up in 2016 season.

As a team, RCB haven’t been that of a successful team in the IPL. Despite having the likes of Ab de Villiers and Virat Kohli in the squad they have ended last twice in the last three editions. They have exciting players like Dale Steyn in their lineup every year but haven’t been able to put up a great show in the middle.

Just like every year, even this year RCB have acquired some new players in the squad. These players just like many others have proven their true potential in the T20 arena in leagues across the world.

Let’s take a look at the top 3 new picks to watch out for in Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2020

Devdutt Padikkal

Devdutt Paddikal

Southpaw Devdutt Padikkal has taken the Indian domestic circuit by storm ever since the 2019-20 Vijay Hazare Trophy. His batting average in T20 cricket speaks for himself as he averages a staggering 64.4 in 12 matches for Karnataka. Moreover, he strikes at a super-duper healthy strike rate of 175.75 and has one century to his name.

He was bought for US$ 28,000 by RCB last year; however, he didn’t make any appearance. As a result, he is comparatively a new pick and some experts regard Devdutt as a young sensation who has the potential to make it big in this years IPL.

RCB could hugely benefit from Devdutt’s ability to score quickly and help them get to good starts. It is expected that Devdutt would open the batting alongside Virat Kohli or Parthiv Patel.