Home Cricket News 4 Teams That Participated In Previous T20 World Cups But Did Not Make It To The T20 WC 2024

4 Teams That Participated In Previous T20 World Cups But Did Not Make It To The T20 WC 2024

4 Teams That Participated In Previous T20 World Cups But Did Not Make It To The T20 WC 2024

Making it to the ICC T20 World Cup stands as a primary objective for all cricket-playing nations. In 2024, the ICC expanded the tournament to include 20 teams. Newcomers like the USA, Canada, and Uganda debuted on this prestigious platform this year.

These newcomers have already made an impact. The USA surprised former champions Pakistan in Dallas, Canada secured their first victory against formidable opponents Ireland, and Uganda marked their presence in the points table with a win over newcomers Papua New Guinea.

While fans relish the inclusion of new teams in this year’s T20 World Cup, four former participants in the tournament failed to qualify for this edition, marking a significant absence.

#4 Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe made waves by advancing to the Super 12s and securing a victory over Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup. There was a moment when it appeared Zimbabwe might even reach the semifinals of the tournament in Australia. However, losses to the Netherlands, India, and Bangladesh dashed their hopes of progression.

However, supporters anticipated  Zimbabwe’s resurgence in 2024. To everyone’s astonishment, the African team not only failed to qualify for the tournament but also suffered an upset from Uganda in the African region’s qualifiers, allowing Uganda to secure a spot in the grand event in the USA and the West Indies. 

#3 Kenya

Also among the African representatives is Kenya. The Kenyan team made a historic breakthrough by reaching the semifinals of the 50-over World Cup in 2003. However, following that achievement, their on-field performances failed to captivate the fans.

Following a disheartening elimination in the group stage of the 2007 ODI World Cup, Kenya endured two devastating losses against Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the initial round of the 2007 T20 World Cup. Since that event, Kenya has never managed to qualify for the T20 World Cup.

#2 Hong Kong

Hong Kong took part in the 2014 and 2016 iterations of the major event. The Asian squad was eliminated in the initial round in both instances. In 2014, Hong Kong caused a stir by beating the home team Bangladesh in the first round, yet they ended up at the bottom of their group.

Fast forward two years, Hong Kong returned home without a single win, experiencing three defeats in as many group stage matches. Since that humbling experience, they haven’t made a comeback to the tournament.

#1 UAE

In 2014, the UAE secured their maiden qualification for the T20 World Cup but ended up at the bottom of their group, enduring losses against Scotland, Netherlands, and Ireland. Although they missed out on the 2016 edition, the UAE made a comeback in 2022, clinching a historic win against Namibia.

However, they again finished last in their group. While they couldn’t qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup, their sights are set on the 2026 edition, slated to be held in India and Sri Lanka.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts