Home Feature 5 Top Leading Run Getters In T20 World Cup History

5 Top Leading Run Getters In T20 World Cup History

5 Top Leading Run Getters In T20 World Cup History
Virat Kohli won hearts on Sunday with a magical knock. (Credit: Twitter)

The Indian team defeated Bangladesh by 5 runs via the DLS method in a rain-curtailed match played at Adelaide Oval on 2 November 2022. The inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup saw the Indian team winning in a thrilling encounter against arch-rivals Pakistan at Wanders, Johannesburg.

Pakistan, England, and Sri Lanka have won the tournament one time each while West Indies is the only team to win the prestigious T20 World Cup twice. The T20 World Cup history has seen some outstanding players that led to their country winning the tournament.

The ongoing World T20 saw some exciting matches in Round 1 matches and in the Super 12 stage. Scoring runs under pressure in tough situations makes them special players.

Here we look at the top 5 leading run-getters in T20 World Cup history.

#1 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli surpassed Mahela Jayawardene’s record of most runs in T20 World Cup history during the match against Bangladesh played at Adelaide Oval on 2 November.

He has been the backbone of the Indian team in T20 World Cup history. During the ongoing T20 World Cup in Australia, Virat Kohli made a brilliant 82* off 55 balls against arch-rivals Pakistan at MCG and helped India to a remarkable win. He then produced another superb knock against Netherlands remaining not out on 62 at SCG.

Virat Kohli looked in decent touch against South Africa at Perth but fell cheaply. He then returned with another brilliant unbeaten 64 off 44 balls helping Team India post 184 for 6 and was named the player of the match award.

Kohli made his T20 World Cup debut in 2012 and scored so far 1065 runs from 25 matches (23 innings) with a stunning average of 88.75. He was the player of the series award in the 2014 and 2016 editions.

He has shown tremendous consistency so far in the 2022 edition with 3 half-centuries. Kohli registered the best score of 89* in the semi-finals of 2016 against the West Indies. Despite his knock, India lost the match badly.

During this prestigious tournament, Virat Kohli has scored 13 half-centuries and would be hoping to continue his brilliant form in the upcoming matches.

#2 Mahela Jayawardene

Former Sri Lankan player Mahela Jayawardene played his first T20 World Cup match in the inaugural edition in 2007. He played a total of 31 matches (31 innings) with 1016 runs. His performances stood out for Sri Lanka and was a member of the winning team that won the T20 World Cup in 2014. Soon after winning the 2014 edition, he retired from T20I cricket along with Kumar Sangakkara.

He made his best score of 100 against Zimbabwe played at Providence Stadium, Guyana on 3rd May 2010. During this prestigious tournament, Jayawardene smashed 1 century and 6 half-centuries at an average of 39.07.

Jayawardene was the leading runs scorer in the 2010 edition with 302 runs from 6 matches with 2 half-centuries and 1 century.

#3 Chris Gayle

Known as the Universe boss created a major impact on the bowlers with explosive hitting. Chris Gayle made his T20 World Cup debut against South Africa in 2007. He lit the stage alight with a cracking knock of 117 runs in the opening match of the T20 World Cup 2007.

Gayle featured in his World T20 Cup match during the 2007 edition and retired after the 2021 edition played in the United Arab Emirates. He hit a total of 965 runs from 33 matches (31 innings) with 2 centuries and 7 half-centuries. His average in the T20 World Cup history is decent enough at 34.46.

The explosive West Indies batter was a part of the winning team that won 2 T20 World Cups in 2012 and then in 2016.

#4 Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is the most capped player in T20 World Cups history. He is currently leading in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022 where India won 3 matches against Pakistan, Netherlands, and Bangladesh.

Rohit played his first T20 World Cup in the 2007 edition and playing to date. He has scored so far with 921 runs from 37 matches (34 innings) with the best score of 79* against Australia in the 2010 edition. He has not performed according to expectations in this year’s edition with only 1 half-century against the Netherlands.

He has scored 9 half-centuries in this prestigious tournament with an average of 35.42. Rohit would be hoping to catch form before the knockout stage and hope to lead India to their 2nd T20 World Cup tournament after a gap of 15 years.

#5 Tillakaratne Dilshan

TM Dilshan was a key member that gave decent start to the Sri Lankan side. He played his first T20 World Cup match in the 2017 edition and retired after the 2016 edition played in India.

Dilshan played a total of 35 matches (34 innings) with 897 runs at an average of 30.93. He registered his highest of 96 not out against West Indies played at Kennington Oval on 19th June 2009. For his match-winning knock, Dilshan was named the player of the match award.

The opener smashed 6 half-centuries in T20 World Cup history. During the 2009 edition of the T20 World Cup 2009, Dilshan was the leading run-getter with 317 runs in 7 matches with an average of 52.83.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts