Home Cricket News All You Need To Know About India Versus Sri Lanka ODI Series

All You Need To Know About India Versus Sri Lanka ODI Series

All You Need To Know About India Versus Sri Lanka ODI Series
India will take on Sri Lanka in ODI series.

Team India will start their 2023 World Cup preparation with 3 match ODI series against Sri Lanka to be played on 10 January. Indian team has been dealt a major blow as Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the series due to fitness concerns.

The series against Sri Lanka will see the likes of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Mohammed Shami making a comeback into the squad. The Indian team would be looking for their star players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and others to regain form ahead of the busy home season.

On the other Sri Lanka would be looking to give a tough fight against a strong Indian side. Last time these two teams met each other, young Indian side defeated Sri Lanka by 2-1 in Sri Lanka. It promises to be an exciting encounter between these two top Asian teams.

Head-to-Head record

Sri Lanka and India have played 162 ODI matches with India winning 93 matches, Sri Lanka 57, 11 no-result, and 1 tied match. India has a great record against Sri Lanka on Indian soil with 36 matches won and only 12 losses. The Men in Blue have won their previous 5 matches in India including two matches in 2014.

The rest of the three matches played between India and Sri Lanka in 2017 saw the Indian team dominating the Lankan Lions. It promises to be an exciting encounter as Team India would look for answers ahead of the major tournament.

Team India
India thrash Sri Lanka by 91 runs in the 3rd T20I. (Image: Twitter/BCCI)

India ODI squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Surya Kumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka ODI squad

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhanajaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara, Dasun Shanaka (C), Chamika Karaunate, Dilshan Madushanka, Mahesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dunith Wellage, Pramod Madhushan, Lahiru Kumara, Jeffery Vandersay, Nuwaindu Fernando, Wanidnu Hasranaga.

Schedule of ODI series

  1. India versus Sri Lanka (Basapara Stadium, Guhwati)- 10th January
  2. India versus Sri Lanka (Eden Gardens, Kolkata)- 12th January
  3. India versus Sri Lanka (Greenfield Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram)- 15th January

All three matches will be played at 1.30 PM IST. It will be not a part of the ICC ODI Super League tournament.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts