Home Cricket News All You Need To Know About India vs Australia ODI Series

All You Need To Know About India vs Australia ODI Series

All You Need To Know About India vs Australia ODI Series
India thrash Sri Lanka by 91 runs in the 3rd T20I. (Image: Twitter/BCCI)

The series now shifts to the three-match ODI series between India and Australia starting on 17 March 2023 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. These 3 matches will be good preparation for both teams to fine-tune their skills for the 2023 World Cup in India.

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the opening ODI as Rohit Sharma would miss the first match due to personal reasons. Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI series due to a back injury that he suffered during the 4th Test match at Ahmedabad.

On the other hand, Steve Smith will captivate Australia as Pat Cummins would miss the series due to the death of his mother. Jhye Richardson would also miss the ODI series with Nathan Ellis named as his replacement. They will be bolstered with the coming of Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, and other top-quality players.

The number 1 ranked ODI side in the World, India would be looking to their dominating form in the home series as they whitewashed Sri Lanka and New Zealand 3-0.

Australia would be looking for their star players like Warner and Co to fire at all cylinders gaining necessary time before the prestigious tournament.

India vs Australia Head-to-Head record

India and Australia played a total of 143 ODI matches with Australia winning 80, India 53, and 10 no-result games.

When Australia visited India for the ODI series, the Men in Blue registered comeback series win. Australia registered to thump 10 wicket win in Mumbai before India won the next two matches in Rajkot and Bangalore.

Australia T20 World Cup 2022
Australia are the reigning T20 World Cup champions.

Here we look at all you need to know about the 2023 ODI series between India and Australia

Indian squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya (Captain for first ODI), Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Surya Kumar Yadav, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Australian squad

David Warner, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith (C), Mitchell Marsh, Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (WK), Alex Carey (WK), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Ashton Agar.

Schedule of the ODI series

  1. India vs Australia (Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai)- 17 March, 1.30 PM
  2.  India vs Australia (DR YS Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket Stadium, Vizag)- 19th March 1.30 PM
  3. India vs Australia (MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai)- 22 March 1.30 PM

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts