Home Cricket News All you need to know about Indian Sports Honours

All you need to know about Indian Sports Honours

In September Virat Kohli along with Rising Pune Supergiants owner Sanjeev Goenka joined hands to introduce Indian Sports Honours in a bid to recognize achievements of Indian sportspersons in various sports and award them.

The first ever Indian Sports Honours event is a red carpet black tie event at Mumbai held on November 11. It is a star-studded, high profile programme that no one would like to miss.

The nominations for awards are given under.

Breakthrough performance – Hardik Pandya, Harmanpreet Kaur, Dipa Karmakar, Sandesh Jhingan.

Comeback of the year – Saina Nehwal, Amit Rohidas, Kedar Jadhav, Ajay Thakur.

Play of the year (Game Changer Moment) – PV Sindhu, Jasprit Bumrah, Ajay Thakur, Sunil Chettri

Club of the year – Bengaluru FC, Aizwal FC, Mumbai Indians, Patna Pirates.

Fan Club of the year – Bharat Army, West Block Blues, NammaTeam, Manjapadda

Sportswoman of the year in individual sport- PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Lalita Babar and Sania Mirza.

Emerging Sportswoman of the year: Aditi Ashok (golf), Ritu Phogat (wrestling), Smriti Mandhana (cricket); and Emerging sportsman of the year  Harmanpreet Singh (hockey), Neeraj Chopra (athletics), Ramkumar Ramanathan (tennis), Sameer Verma (badminton) and Vidit Santosh Gujarathi (chess).

Best sportsperson (male): Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw), Pankaj Advani (cue sports), SSP Chaurasia (golfer), and Kidambi Srikanth (shutter)

Sportswoman of the year award in a team sport: Deepika Thakur (Hockey), Rani Rampal (Hockey), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Mithali Raj (Cricket) and Harmanpreet Kaur (Cricket).

Kumble is competing with Bisheshwar Nandi (gymnastics), Balwan Singh (kabaddi), Harendra Singh (hockey) and Vijay Davecha (golf) for the award.

The jury consists of a former All-England champion and Puellela Gopichand, and Mahesh Bhupathi, legendary sprinter PT Usha, former world number one shooter Anjali Bhagwat and former India hockey captain Arjun Halappa.

Talking about this award Bhupathi said: “Having an award at the end of a season not only inspires youth but recognizes the past players. It”s exciting to have an authentic sports award in the country. I don”t think we have one. It will definitely create an aspiration to achieve more.”

– by Atharva Apte