Home Asian Games 2023 Asian Games 2023 Semi-Finals 1: Team India Enter The Final With A Dominating Win

Asian Games 2023 Semi-Finals 1: Team India Enter The Final With A Dominating Win

Asian Games 2023 Semi-Finals 1: Team India Enter The Final With A Dominating Win
Indian Team beat Bangladesh to qualify for finals of Asian Games 2023

Team India entered the finals of the Asian Games with a dominating win over Bangladesh played at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfing Cricket Field, Hangzhou on 6th October 2023. Indian captain Ruturaj Gaikwad won the toss and elected to field first. They decided to bring Shahbaz Ahmed instead of Avesh Khan in today’s encounter.

Parveez Hossain Emon looked in decent touch before Sai Kishore got an initial breakthrough dismissing Mahmudul Hasan Joy with a simple catch to Jaiswal. Washington Sundar did the trick for Gaikwad getting wickets of Bangladesh captain Saif Hasan and Zakir Hasan in the same over to leave them struggling on a pitch that helped the spinners. At the end of the first six overs, Bangladesh scored 21 for 3.

After the field restrictions, Tilak Varma got rid of Hossain Emon with another easy catch to Gaikwad. Sai Kishore picked his 2nd wicket dismissing Shahadat Hossain as Tilak Varma took a chance at backward point leaving Bangladesh in deep trouble. Sai Kishore struck again to dismiss Afif Hossain as Shivam Dube took an easy grab at short fine leg.

It was a disciplined bowling effort by the Indian bowlers as they did not allow Bangladeshi batters to score runs easily. Rakibul Hasan attacked Shahbaz Ahmed before the latter got rid of him providing an easy catch to Tilak Varma. Ripon Mondal was not able to connect the shots while Jaker Ali provided some resistance. Arshdeep Singh took the wicket of final delivery as India restricted Bangladesh to 96 for 9 in 20 overs. Sai Kishore was the pick of bowlers with 3 for 12 while Washington Sundar took 2 wickets, Tilak Varma, Ravi Bishnoi, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Arshdeep Singh took 1 wicket each.

Tilak Varma
Tilak Varma

Chasing a modest total of 97 runs to win, Yashvi Jaiswal was dismissed in the first over providing a simple catch to Mithun Chowdhury at short third man. Tilak Varma came to the crease and attacked the Bangladeshi bowlers right from the word go. Ruturaj Gaikwad also looked in sublime touch smashing Ripon Mondal for big shots. Varma and Gaikwad kept the momentum going for India as they raced away to 68 for 1 at the end of six overs.

Tilak Varma showed his class with some lusty blows not allowing the bowlers to settle and completed fifty off just 25 deliveries. Ruturaj Gaikwad hit the winning runs with a boundary as India registered a thumping 9-wicket win with 64 balls to spare. Gaikwad and Varma put on unbeaten 97 runs for the 2nd wicket. Varma remained not out on 55 off 26 deliveries with 2 fours and 6 sixes while Gaikwad was not out on 40 off 26 deliveries with 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Indian Team qualifies for the finals

The Indian Team has been assured of a medal with this dominating win. They will face the winner of Pakistan versus Afghanistan 2nd semi-finals to be played today at 11.30 AM IST.

Indian team produced a dominating right from the word go in today’s encounter after a poor bowling performance in the previous match against Nepal. They would look to replicate their performance in tomorrow’s finals and win the prestigious gold medal as the women in blue did.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts