Home Cricket News Australia announce squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Australia announce squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017


Australia announce squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Australian selectors have announced the 15-man squad they for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Injured duo Mitchell Starc and Chris Lynn have both been named in squad.

Starc (foot) & Lynn (shoulder) are both currently on the sidelines due to injury but are expected to be fit in plenty of time for Australia”s tournament opener on June 2.

Australia”s Champions Trophy fixtures

  • v New Zealand, June 2 at Edgbaston
  • v Bangladesh, June 5 at The Oval
  • v England, June 10 at Edgbaston

“Our medical staff will continue to monitor Mitchell and Chris’ recovery from their respective injuries but we are hopeful they will be fit in time for the team’s departure on May 18,” selector Trevor Hohns said in a media release.

All-Rounder James Faulkner has been dropped from the squad while there have been inclusions of Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell & Marcus Stoinis.

Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb & Shaun Marsh have been left out squad while George Bailey & Aaron Finch has been named in squad. the leg-spinner, Adam Zampa is the only specialist tweaker in the squad.

The Australian Team will depart on 18th May to Play ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in England and Wales. Australia will take on Sri Lanka & Pakistan in two warm-up matches on the 27th and the 29th of May.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner (vice-capt), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa.

Latest Posts