Cricket News

Australia announce squad for the World T20

Australia announce squad for the World T20: Australia selectors announce squad for the upcoming major event, the ICC World T20 to be held in India this March. Major changes have been effected after Australia faced a humiliating whitewash against India in the T20I series lately.

Aaron Finch has been axed as skipper and Steve Smith is assigned with the responsibility. However Finch, who recovered from hamstring injury is selected in the squad as an opener. Steve Smith, Australia’s all format captain now will be under huge expectations from his countrymen as Australia have never won the World T20 title.

Matthew Wade, Cameron Boyce and Nathan Lyon will consider themselves unfortunate as they missed the cut. 3 uncapped players will be getting tickets to the world championship – Peter Nevill, Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar. Matthew Wade, the wicketkeeper has paid the price for his poor form with the gloves and bat.

Rod Marsh, chairman of national selection committee said: “We think now is the right time for Steve to lead Australia in all three forms of the game as it offers us important continuity, not only ahead of the World T20, but beyond that tournament as well.”

“Aaron Finch has done a very good job captaining Australia in T20I cricket. He will have benefited enormously from the leadership opportunity and will remain a highly-respected leader within the Australian squad,” Marsh told media.

Australian squad: Steve Smith (Captain), David Warner (Vice captain), Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Peter Nevill, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Aaron Finch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favourite sport.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker