Home Cricket News Australia announce T20 squad for India series

Australia announce T20 squad for India series


Australia announce T20 squad for India series: Cricket Australia have picked a 17-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against India with an eye on the World T20 this year. Many experienced faces were called up while a few youngsters will be tried.

Veteran Shaun Tait was given a call-up after almost five years while a good BBL season provided Shane Watson a reward. Swashbuckling opener David Warner has been included in the remaining ODI games and T20 series after he was off for personal duties.

Joel Paris, Mitchell Marsh and Usman Khawaja were left out of the squad to make way for the veterans. Three spinners were included in the T20 squad – Nathan Lyon, Travis Head and Cameron Boyce.

Shane Watson”s good showing in the Big Bash League earned him a recall in to the Australian side.

Skipper Steve Smith and his deputy David Warner will play only the first T20I game in Adelaide on January 26 before sitting out the other games to prepare for the first ODI against the Kiwis in Auckland on February 3. Aaron Finch will lead the T20 side. Surprisingly George Bailey also missed the cut. Uncapped pacer Andrew Tye included in the squad.

BBL star Chris Lynn was an obvious choice for the selectors to include in the shortest format. Off-spinner Travis Head had an excellent season for the table-topping Adelaide Strikers in the BBL and broke into the T20 side.

Australia Squad for remaining ODIs : Steve Smith (c), Aaron Finch, David Warner, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh.

Australia Squad for T20Is: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait.

Latest Posts