Home Cricket News Australia vs India 4th Test Day 5: India Retain Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Australia...

Australia vs India 4th Test Day 5: India Retain Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Australia Beaten After 31 Years At The Gabba

Team India Series Win
India have retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Photo Credit. (BCCI)

India beat Australia by three wickets to win the final Test match at The Gabba. In the process, Australia was beaten at The Gabba after 31 years. India won the series 2-1 and retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy. After India lost the first Test in Adelaide, they bounced back heroically in the last three games. They won the second Test in Melbourne to draw level in the series. Then they fought with all their might in Sydney to salvage a draw and chased down 324 required to win in the final day to win the third Test at The Gabba. More about the day 5 report in detail below.

Also Read: Ajinkya Rahane Reacts After India Creates History Again And Wins The Series In Australia

India First Team To Beat At The Gabba After 31 Years

India chased down 328 to win in the second innings to sin the series 2-1. They started the day on requiring 324 runs to win and did it in style with three wickets left. Rishabh Pant played a matchwinning knock scoring an unbeaten 89 off 138 balls. In the process, he added 50-run stands with Cheteshwar Pujara (56) first and then with Washington Sundar (22).

Prior To Pant’s innings, Shubman Gill scored a brilliant 91 and laid the foundation for an attacking innings from Pant later on. Senior partner Cheteshwar Pujara (56) weathered the storm of the Australian bowlers taking body blows and coping up several injuries in both his hands. Ultimately it was Rishabh Pant who hit the winning run and gave India a moment of history at The Gabba.

Also Read: Rishabh Pant Quickest to 1000 Test Runs Among Indian Wicketkeepers

India’s Winning Moment At The Gabba

Also Read: Sunil Gavaskar’s Message Ahead of Day 5 Gabba Test

The Australian bowlers kept coming at the Indian batsmen who had the required answer to every delivery they bowled at them. Pat Cummins especially ran in hard and fast. He took four wickets in the second innings.

Nathan Lyon dismissed Sundar after a riveting battle with Pant. The left-hander took the battle to the off-spinner who did deceive the youngster with his guile. Australian skipper Tim Paine missed two opportunities to dismiss the Indian wicketkeeper as he had a day to forget behind the stumps.

All the Australian bowlers kept the fight on but the grit and determination of Rishabh Pant was way bigger than the might of the Australian bowlers.

Winning the final Test at The Gabba, India thus retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as Ajinkya Rahane’s unbeaten run as India Test captain continued. India under Virat Kohli won the Test series against Australia 2-1. Rahane led India in the final three Tests and once again led India to a 2-1 series win in 2020-21. Rishabh Pant was selected as the Man of the Match, while Pat Cummins was chosen as the Player of the Series.

Also Read: Australia vs India 2020-21: Shane Warne Criticises Tim Paine’s Captaincy In Fourth Test