Home News Australian ODI Team achieves their lowest point in ODI Cricket

Australian ODI Team achieves their lowest point in ODI Cricket


After 34 years, the Australian Cricket men’s team have slipped to 6th in latest ODI rankings announced today. In the ongoing ODI series between Australia and England, the newly led captain Tim Paine have lost 2 matches and thus reached their lowest points in their ODI cricket. In January 1984, the Australian team did not perform well and was at number 6th in ODI rankings.

Australia has to play well in the next three games of ODI series against England and need to win one game out of three matches. At the present moment, Tim Paine led side are below Pakistan and improve their overall game if they have to defeat England in ongoing ODI series. It has been a downward slide for 5 times World Cup champions who have lost 13 out of 15 finished One-day international matches.

© Getty Images

In the 2017 Champions Trophy held in England, Australia was knocked out of group stages losing out in the group stages. The Australian Cricket team lost 3 consecutive ODI series against New Zealand 0-2, India 1-4 and against England 1-4 in Australia this year.

Before the World Cup 2019, the Australian team have been dealt a major blow as their star players Steve Smith and David Warner have been banned by Cricket Australia regarding ball tampering case. This year, Australia has tough cricket tours against Pakistan in UAE, against South Africa in October and November, ODI, T20I series and test series against India.


© Getty Images

Australia made its ODI debut on 5th January 1971. Since then they have played 913 ODI matches and won 556, lost 314, tied 9 and no results 34 times. They have appeared in every World Cup edition winning the tournament in 1987 for the first time under the captaincy of Allan Border.

In 1996 World Cup held in Subcontinent, under the captaincy of Mark Taylor, Australia finished as runners-up losing to Sri Lanka. In 1999 World Cup held in England, Steve Waugh led the strong Australian side to a famous win over Pakistan.

Under the captaincy of Ricky Pointing, Australia won two successive World Cups in 2003 and 2007. The Australian Cricket team won their 5th World Cup title winning the 2015 World Cup held in New Zealand and Australia. At that moment, Michael Clarke was the captain of ODI team.

© Getty Images

Australia has been runners-up in 1975, 1996. In the 2011 World Cup, Australia lost to India in quarter finals.

The Australian Cricket team has a good Champions Trophy record winning the title twice in 2006 and 2009 with Ricky Pointing as the captain.

The Australian team had some great players including Ricky Pointing, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Watson and also some top quality bowlers including Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath.

Ricky Pointing is 3rd in the list of the highest run-getter in ODI cricket with 13704 runs in 375 matches. Shane Watson holds the record for highest individual scorer among Australian batsman with 185*.

© Getty Images

Among bowlers, Glenn McGrath finished as leading wicket-takers with 381 wickets in ODI cricket from 250 matches.

Australia had the record of winning 34 World Cup matches. Pakistan defeated Australia in 1999 World Cup and remained unbeaten till then. In the 2011 World Cup, Australia lost to Pakistan again. Australia could not defend the World Cup in 2011.