Home Cricket News BBCI Announces India’s T20I And ODI Squads For Sri Lanka Series

BBCI Announces India’s T20I And ODI Squads For Sri Lanka Series

BBCI Announces India’s T20I And ODI Squads For Sri Lanka Series
Indian Cricket team. (Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squads for the upcoming limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. The Men in Blue will play three T20Is, starting from January 3, followed by as many ODIs.

The BCCI has dropped senior batter Shikhar Dhawan from the ODIs, which is likely the end of the road for him in international cricket. Dhawan has been battling poor form in the ODI format this year. His average of 34.40 and the strike rate of 74.21 in 2022 is the lowest he has registered ever since his comeback in 2013.

Moreover, Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan‘s recent performance also proved to be decisive. Ishan recently smacked a double century, which also paved way for his selection.  Rishabh Pant has also been dropped from both squads against Sri Lanka.

Hardik Pandya will lead India again in the shortest format after being named skipper for the series in New Zealand immediately after the T20 World Cup. The allrounder makes a return to the ODI squad as well and has also been elevated as the vice-captain in the format despite KL Rahul’s presence in the squad. Middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav will be Hardik’s deputy in the T20I setup.

India T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

India vs Sri Lanka 2022 – Full Schedule

1 Tuesday 03-Jan-23 7:00 PM 1st T20 Mumbai
2 Thursday 05-Jan-23 7:00 PM 2nd T20 Pune
3 Saturday 07-Jan-23 7:00 PM 3rd T20 Rajkot
4 Tuesday 10-Jan-23 1:30 PM 1st ODI Guwahati
5 Thursday 12-Jan-23 1:30 PM 2nd ODI Kolkata
6 Sunday 15-Jan-23 1:30 PM 3rd ODI Trivandrum

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts