Home Cricket News BBPL 4 A Super Success!

BBPL 4 A Super Success!


“Be content with what you receive and never with what you achieve.” It all starts with a dream…to become the next Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli or M.S. Dhoni in the cricketing circuit. Stepping onto the field with the bat or ball in the hand, the wind blowing across ones face, a number of spectators cheering them on to go out and give their best… is exactly what every participant experienced in two days’ time.

With marvellous and competitive cricket being played, all they did was set the crease on fire. This particular one of a kind tournament attracted one and all of various ages to come and be a part of the carnival. It continued to draw attention as the teams participated aiming to win the ultimate big prize and take home the shield. CricFit author Binaisha M. Surti brings you all the exciting action from the field.

Behram Baug held its ever so popular cricketing event, the 4th Box Cricket Tournament called “Behram Baug Premier League” (BBPL) on 20th and 21st May 2017 and was meticulously organized by Karl Siganporia, Zrvan Elavia, Shanaya Udwadia, Anahita Siganporia, Arish Siganporia, YazadWadia, Hanosh Panthaki and Shazmaan Kulwachwalla. After a grand auction which was held prior to the event, 13 teams participated in this carnival which was played under floodlights. The sides consisted of 7 players each which included boys, senior citizens, girls and ladies as participants. Each team played hard and fair while competing with their opposition, showing great team spirit and commitment.

The concept of Behram Baug Premier League came into existence so that people of all ages could unite, play the sport in good competitive spirit and enjoy the game. This year too, a tremendous response was received from all age groups especially, the girls and ladies. On the other hand the highlight of this event was that senior citizens from 69-72 years performed brilliantly, showing tremendous passion for the game. 91 participants in all had a gala time during the two day affair. The tournament kicked off with the league stage and then advanced to the quarter finals, semi-finals and the finals which took place on Sunday 21st May.

After some great competition the 4 teams that entered the semi-finals were Phoenix Pink, Glow-bal Warning Fluroscent, Maroon 7 and 7 shades of Grey. The final face-off was between 2 tough teams, Glow-bal Warning Fluroscent Vs Maroon 7. The Maroon’s scored a paltry 28 runs in the finals losing 6 wickets in the process. Daraius Khodaiji and Khurshed Fitter contributed 8 runs each. Their rivals Glow-bal Warning Fluroscent cruised to victory is style, scoring 29 runs. The winning team consisting of skipper Farhad Zaiwalla, Zoraius Kamdin, Zeus Kadodwalla, Firdaus Fitter, Zubin Zack, Arnaz Doctor and FarzanaMotafaram and team owner Rusi Doctor all erupted in joy as they emerged victorious.

All the generous sponsors were thanked for their contribution towards making the massive event a super success. Soli Kodia was specially thanked for helping out with the maintenance work for the ground and making the pitch for the tournament.

Finally the awards were presented by Chief Guest, cricketer Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr) and Guests of Honour, BPP Chairman Yazdi Desai along with wife Anahita Desai. Medium pacer Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr) is part of the Mumbai Ranji Team and has further played an instrumental part in helping Mumbai clinch 2 Ranji Trophy titles. Sandhu bowled an incredible spell on debut for Mumbai and clinched a 5 wicket haul (5-66) against Punjab in Ranji Trophy way back in the year 2011. He is also part of the prestigious team Parsee Gymkhana.

The Best Player in the male and female category were also awarded with a special cash prize donated by Rusi Doctor. In addition, Yazdi Desai announced a massive reward for female players every year, in the name of Diana Edulji, ex captain of the Indian women’s cricket team… Niloufer Pagdiwala was awarded with the same this year.


Best Veteran: Dara Saher

Best Upcoming Player Female: KairaIchhaporia

Best Upcoming Player Male: Xerxes Jogina

Best Player Female: NilouferPagdiwala

Best Player Male: FarhadZaiwalla

Purple Cap Winner: DaraiusKhodaiji

Orange Cap Winner: ZoraiusKamdin

Runner Up: Maroon 7

Winner: Glow-bal Warning Fluroscent

Latest Posts