Home Cricket News BCCI Announces India Squad For West Indies T20Is; Ravichandran Ashwin Returns

BCCI Announces India Squad For West Indies T20Is; Ravichandran Ashwin Returns

Team India BCCI
Indian cricket team (Photo: BCCI)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has picked a 18-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies. Senior cricketers Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the tour. Veteran leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was not included in the squad, the reason for which is still unknown.

Senior batter KL Rahul and leg-spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been named in the squad subject to their fitness. Both had been sidelined by injuries recently and have been on the recovery phase. Hardik Pandya and Rishabh Pant have been named in the T20I squad after being rested for the ODIs.

The squad also sees the return of off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin to the T20I squad, with India keen to test out all possibilities ahead of the World Cup later this year. After a long hiatus from the white ball group, Ashwin made a comeback in the T20I World Cup last year but has not been a regular fixture in the side since, with injuries also playing a part in his exclusion.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

India’s T20I schedule for the West Indies series:

India tour of West Indies, 2022 (T20Is)
Sr No. Day Date Match Venue
1 Friday 29th July 1st T20I Trinidad
2 Monday 1st August 2nd T20I St Kitts
3 Tuesday 2nd August 3rd T20I St Kitts
4 Saturday 6th August 4th T20I Lauderhill, Florida
5 Sunday 7th August 5th T20I Lauderhill, Florida

more to follow…

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.