Home Asia Cup 2022 BCCI Announces India’s Squad For Women’s Asia Cup 2022; Jemimah Rodrigues Declared...

BCCI Announces India’s Squad For Women’s Asia Cup 2022; Jemimah Rodrigues Declared Fit

India women's cricket team
Indian women's cricket team (Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday announced the India’s squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2022. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member contingent, whilst Smriti Mandhana will be her deputy.

Jemimah Rodrigues returns to the squad for the tournament. She was ruled out of the ongoing England series owing to a wrist injury that she sustained during The Hundred. The youngster is recovering at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. However, she has been declared fit for the upcoming tournament. Her inclusion is crucial for the team to strengthen the middle order.

Jemimah made her debut at the tender age of 18. The Mumbai-born cricketer is well known for her fearless batting approach and elegant style. Even though she has been in and out of the team, Jemimah made her presence felt when she got an opportunity. She is a solid middle-order player.

Apart from her, Kiran Navgire has featured in the main squad. She made her debut in the three-match T20I series against England earlier this month. Taniya Bhatia has been sidelined and is being moved to the reserves. Renuka Singh and Meghna Singh will lead the pace division, whereas Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Radha Yadav are first-choice spinners. All-rounders Deepti Sharma and Sneha Rana will lead the lower-order duties.

Here’s the full 15-member squadHarmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Kiran Navgire

Reserves: Taniya Bhatia, Simran Bahadur

Also Read: 3 Changes India Can Make In The 2nd T20I Against Australia

Bangladesh to host Women’s Asia Cup 2022

The continental tournament is returning after a gap of four years. It is all set to begin on the October 01, 2022. On the same day, India will kickstart their campaign and play the opening match against Sri Lanka.

The Women in Blue will face Malaysia and United Arab Emirates women before having a face-off with arch-rivals Pakistan. The teams are scheduled to play 21 group stage matches in total. The finals will take place on October 15, 2022. Seven teams will compete to get crowned as the ultimate Asian champions.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.