The BCCI has announced a 15 man squad for the Nidahas Trophy T20I series involving hosts Sri Lanka and Bangladesh starting from 6th March to 18th March 2018. Indian selectors made 7 changes to the squad that took part in the ODI and T20I series with South Africa that finished yesterday night.

Keeping in the mind IPL and upcoming overseas schedule, BCCI decided to rest Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav and Kedar Jadhav.

Independence T20I Tri-Series 2018 Full Schedule Announced

The team will be captained by Rohit Sharma as Virat Kohli has been rested. Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the vice-captain of the team. KL Rahul who was a part of Indian T20 squad for the South African tour will be part of Nidhas Trophy tri-series. Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik are the other batsmen in the squad. Karthik and Risbabh Pant will be the wicketkeepers for the Nidhas Trophy.

Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda make a comeback into the Indian T20I squad who were a part of the T20I squad for the Sri Lankan T20I series. Vijay Shankar has been called as an all-rounder in T20I squad replacing Hardik Pandya. Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj will form the pace bowling department while Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal will spearhead the spin bowling.

Full schedule Of Indian Cricket Team For 2018-19 Season

Hardik Pandya played the entire South African tour while Virat Kohli played 3 test matches, 6 ODI’s and 2 T20Is before missing 3rd T20I due to a stiff back. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah almost played the entire series.

Rishabh Pant has been included in the T20I series as the second wicketkeeper. It is a great chance for Indian youngsters to showcase their talent and impress selectors. The tournament will be played on the mark of 70th Independence Day of Sri Lanka.

The Indian team for Nidhas Trophy T20 series :- Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (WK).