Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Darren Sammy, Shakib-Al-Hasan are some of the big names among many others who will be going under the hammer in the Lanka Premier League auction on October 1. A total of 150 international players have thrown in their names to play in the league. All of them will go for the auction.

“Each franchise can buy up to six international players. A total of 30 international cricketers and 65 local cricketers are expected to make up the five teams,” Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

The board has signed up with the Innovative Production Group as the official sponsors of the tournament. The first season of the Lanka Premier League will take place from November 14 to December 6. The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in August but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Also Read: Uncertainty Looms Over Bangladesh Tour of Sri Lanka

23 Matches, 5 Teams, 3 Venues in Lanka Premier League

There will be a total of 23 matches played across three stadiums. Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium will host the matches. The LPL launch will take place in Hambantota.

There will be a total of five teams in the competition. The teams have been named after the five cities in Sri Lanka, namely Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna.

The SLC has confirmed that the Innovative Production Group (IPG) will provide the broadcast and production services as well as the franchise license and the ground rights for the Lanka Premier League.

Meanwhile, not many Sri Lankan international players will be playing in IPL 2020. Lasith Malinga is the biggest cricketing name from the island city to opt-out his name from the season.

He said that he wanted to spend time with his family in these tough times, which is why he has pulled out of IPL 2020. Malinga is the highest wicket-taker in the IPL with 170 wickets to his name.