Home Cricket News Brainfade 2 0; Dilruwan Perera”s brain fade moment sparks up another DRS...

Brainfade 2 0; Dilruwan Perera”s brain fade moment sparks up another DRS Controversy

In March Steve Smith”s brain fade sparked a major controversy that spiced up the battle between India and Australia and set the tone for the rest of the series. In the second test at Bangalore chasing 190, Steve Smith was lbw to Umesh Yadav.

https://twitter.com/Cric_Stat/status/932107866625916929?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.crictracker.com%2Ftwitterati-react-dilruwan-perera-seeking-drs-help-dressing-room%2F

Being undecided as to go for DRS call or not he turned towards dressing room for help. The umpires immediately noticed it and denied him from going for a review. The rule says a batsman cannot take assistance from any external sources barring the non-striker who also has the same view that an umpire gets.

https://twitter.com/sambitbal/status/932111180625309696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.crictracker.com%2Ftwitterati-react-dilruwan-perera-seeking-drs-help-dressing-room%2F

Smith summed it up by saying it all happened in heat of the moment and termed his actions as “brain fade” which later went on to become a popular term in cricket.

Dilruwan Perera asking for the DRS on the fourth day of the first Test (Screenshot is taken from video uploaded by BCCI. TV)

In the first test against India at Kolkata, Sri Lankan all-rounder Dilruwan Perera almost did something similar. After bowling out India for partly 172,  Sri Lankans were cruising at 201/4 before Shami and Bhuvaneshwar wrecked a havoc. They got rid of Dickwella, Shanaka, and Chandimal in quick succession and left Sri Lanka reeling at 201/7.

https://twitter.com/DeepDasgupta7/status/932113943945814016

It happened on the last ball of 57th over when Shami was bowling to Dilruwan Perera. Shami trapped Dilruwan in front and umpire Nigel Llong raised his fingers. Dilruwan started walking back towards changing room. Suddenly he had a change of heart and came back and asked for a review. The decision was overturned and Perera survived.

https://twitter.com/ShekharGupta/status/932109919787945984

Now did he get any signal from dressing room? Well, there is no clear evidence to prove that. One may argue so because his change of heart was surprising and analysts on laptops always have the better view of proceedings.

Or had he just forgotten the new rule that you don”t lose reviews on umpire”s call anymore?

Commentators discuss the Dilruwan Perera DRS call.Where did that referral come from? Perera was walking back after…

Posted by Indian Cricket Team on Saturday, November 18, 2017

– by Atharva Apte