Home Cricket News Cricket Association of Bengal launch T20 league

Cricket Association of Bengal launch T20 league


Cricket Association of Bengal launch T20 league:- Domestic T20 leagues are continuously flooding the cricketing world one after the another. Bengal premiere league (BPL) is another one such league which is expected to grace the domestic cricket fraternity of India pretty soon.

This franchisee based league will involve six teams and its first edition is expected to begin in December later this year as confirmed by Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) President and former India captain Sourav Ganguly on Friday.

“I have signed a contract with IMG-R. There will be six teams taking part and three grounds have been allotted for the tournament,” Ganguly told reporters.

Eden Gardens, Jadavpur University’s second campus in Saltlake, and a third ground in district are the proposed venues for the upcoming league. Some preparations are needed to be done before the grounds get ready to host competitive matches, including the installation of floodlights at saltlake campus of Jadavpur university.

“We will install temporary floodlights in the two grounds,” the former India captain told reporters and added they have already signed a contract with IMG-Reliance.

The auctions for the tournament are likely to be held in august. As per the rule of the tournament, no foreign player is allowed to take part in the competition but all the young t20 stars across the country will be making the appearance in this league.

Sourav Ganguly who is also a part of the 15 member ICC commentary team for the upcoming champions trophy in the UK was quite upbeat about India’s chances of defending the trophy and implied that absence of Manish Pandey due to an injury won’t make a huge difference to the strength of Indian team.

“India will do well in the ICC Champions Trophy. The squad looks good and one change won”t affect much,” Ganguly concluded.

Latest Posts