Home BBL Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For BBL 2020-21

Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For BBL 2020-21

Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For BBL 2020-21
Credit: Getty Images

Cricket Australia has made a couple of changes in the schedule of the 2020 edition of Big Bash League (BBL), scheduled to get underway on the 10th of December. The revised schedule allows local clubs to host matches in local markets considering the global health crisis and border restrictions.

BBL came up with the revised schedule consultation with governments, clubs, state and territory associations and broadcast partners to ensure the safety of participants and the community at large.  Along with Tasmania, Queensland and South Australia will stage matches in December while Western Australia, Victoria, and New South Wales will do in January.

On the other hand, the most significant change is the structure of playoffs, which will have five fixtures before the final. The teams will compete in the Eliminator, Qualifier, Knockout, and the Challenger to go through to the tournament decider. The organisers are closely monitoring the situations in the country, which has witnessed a recent spike in the number of COVID-19 cases.

Also Read: Yuzvendra Chahal And Rashid Khan Engage In A Entertaining Chat On Instagram

BBL announces revised schedule

Cricket Australia’s head of Big Bash League Alistair Dobson is thrilled to announce the boldest schedule in the Australian sport since the pandemic committed take matches to every club’s home market in the upcoming season.

“The League is delighted to confirm the boldest schedule in Australian sport since the pandemic began by committing to take matches to every club’s home market in KFC BBL|10,” Dobson said. 

“This schedule is a testament to the strength of the League and ensures our fans around the country will get the chance to see their KFC BBL Clubs in action on home soil. We’d like to thank all federal, state and territory governments, our KFC BBL clubs, state and territory associations, the players and Australian Cricketers’ Association, broadcasters Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, SEN and commercial partners KFC, BKT, Toyota and Sanitarium for their support as we deliver a safe and successful competition for our fans across the country,” Dobson claimed as quoted by Big Bash League.

Also Read: Shane Watson Slams New BBL Rules Ahead of 2020-21 Season

Here is the revised schedule:

Latest Posts