Home Feature Cricket Stadiums In Mumbai

Cricket Stadiums In Mumbai

Cricket Stadiums In Mumbai

Cricket in India is a religion, especially in Mumbai where few stadiums are meant for international purposes and while others are known for domestic tournaments like Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and other local ones.

Mumbai is a place where dreams are realized and practiced to become a cricketer. Many Indian cricketers became stars while doing practice in money capital of India.

Here we look at the Cricket Stadiums in Mumbai.

Wankhede Cricket Stadiums, Mumbai

Wankhede Stadium was established in 1974. It has a total capacity of 33,108 and is situated near marine lines in Churchgate. BCCI headquarters cricket arena is placed near this area. The first T20I match was held between India and England on 22 December 2012. The first One-day international at this stadium took place between India and Sri Lanka on 17 January 1987.

Sri Lanka and India played a low-scoring thriller match at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 3 January 2023.

India holds the record for the highest Test total of 631 against England in the 2016/17 season. The lowest total at this ground in Test matches was by New Zealand of 62 during 2020/21. Dilip Vengskar and Ravi Shastri hold the record for the highest partnership of 298 against Australia in the 1986/1987 season. Anil Kumble 38, R Ashwin 34, and Kapil Dev 28 have top wicket-takers at this stadium.

South Africa holds the record for the highest ODI total of 438 for 4 in 2015. Bangladesh holds the lowest-ever total of 115 in the 1998 season. Sachin Tendulkar scored the most runs with 455, followed by Azharuddin and Virat Kohli with 249 runs.

Mumbai Indians play their matches in the Indian Premier League. Mumbai state team plays its matches in Ranji Trophy.

CCI, Brabourne

The Cricket Club of India was established in 1937. The first ever Test match was played on 9th December 1948 between India and West Indies. India and Sri Lanka featured in the last Test match played at this venue on 2 December 2009. India won that match and also became the number 1 ranked Test side.

It has a capacity of 20,000. The stadium has been named under Lord Brabourne, Governor of Bombay.

The first One-day international match was played between Pakistan and Australia on 23 October 1989. India and West Indies featured on 29 October 2018. India and Australia played only one T20I match on 20 October 2007.

Indian Women took on Australian Women with the last T20I match on 20 December 2022. It is a good pitch to bat on with the ball coming on.

India recorded the highest ever Test total at this venue with 726 for 9 declared on 2 December 2009. BS Chandrashekar grabbed a total of 34 wickets from 5 matches ( 10 innings) at an economy of 2.39 runs per over.

During the 2022 season, many matches took place in the Indian Premier League season. It was a great batting pitch with the team batting second and mostly won matches with short boundaries and big hits.

It will host matches including the finals of the historic Women’s Premier League 2023 starting on 4 March with finals to be played on 26 March.

DY Patil Cricket Stadiums

DY Patil Stadium is another superb venue to play cricket. It has a total capacity of 60,000. Indian Women’s Team played each other twice on December 9 and December 2022. Indian women’s team defeated Australian women in the 2nd T20I during Super Over.

IPLeague has hosted matches at this venue since its inception in 2008. It is a good batting pitch and also some help for pacers and spinners alike. During the 2022 season, it was one of the venues the IPL season took place.

The venue is Nerul, Navi Mumbai. It hosted the 2008 Indian Premier League finals between Mumbai Indians and CSK, also the 2010 IPL finals.

Bandra Kurla Complex Ground

Bandra Kurla Complex Ground was established in 2006 by the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority. It is being hosted by Mumbai Cricket Association. The Clubhouse has brilliant facilities including badminton halls, three pitches for spin, three for pacers, and the 7th one is a normal wicket.

The first-ever Women’s One-day international match was played between India and England on 1 March 2010. New Zealand and Sri Lanka played the last ever T20 match during the World Cup in 2013.

India and England featured in the first and last T20 match in 2010. It hosted two matches of the World Cup 2013. Bandra Kurla Complex hosted some matches which hosted the 2017 Blind World Cup.

Mumbai played the 2022/23 Ranji Trophy matches this season. It also hosts few age group matches. It does not broadcast matches but is a great place to practice.

MIG Club Ground

MIG Cricket Club is one of the oldest cricket clubs in Mumbai. It was established in 1968 has been affiliated with Mumbai Cricket Association since 1974. Middle Income Group Club Ground is situated in Bandra, Mumbai.

The Australian Women’s Team and Denmark Women’s Team played the first-ever match on this ground. Belinda Clarke scored her first double-century in One-day international cricket and highest in ODI cricket. Clarke made 229 off 155 deliveries with 22 fours and the Australian women won by 369 runs.

During the 2013 World Cup, Sri Lankan women and West Indies, and Australia and West Indies matches were played on this ground. The ground featured two warm-up matches before the World Cup matches.


Azad Ground known as Bombay Gymkhana Ground is located on 25 acres of land near Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus station. It is a regular venue for inter-school matches. The Bombay Clubhouse was established in 1875 at the southern end of the maidan.

This maidan has twenty-two cricket pitches. Prithvi Shaw created history on 20 November 2013 when he scored 546. Sachin Tendulkar and Vinod Kambli shared 664 runs partnership during the Harris Shield School match. Sarfaraz Khan scored 439 runs in Harris Shield match in 2009.

Azad Maidan hosts a lot of matches including Inter-school and club. This maidan has produced many great cricketers who has served Team India.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts