Home Cricket News CSA’s 3TC Format: Teams, Squads, Timings And Everything You Need To Know

CSA’s 3TC Format: Teams, Squads, Timings And Everything You Need To Know

CSA’s 3TC Format: Teams, Squads, Timings And Everything You Need To Know
A devastated AB de Villiers after the semi final loss in the 2015 world cup.

Amid the prevailing lockdown due to coronavirus pandemic, the fans have not witnessed cricket in the last three months. As the curve looks to flatten Cricket South Africa has announced an innovative exhibition match on June 27 in Centurion.

Meanwhile, we have experienced a lot of improvisation in the game. Most recently, England Cricket Board placed ‘The Hundred’ on the table. However, ECB had to postpone the tournament scheduled to commence this June.

The match will start at 2:30 PM IST. This match will also introduce a brand new format named, ‘3TC’. The game has been named as ‘Solidarity Cup’. All the proceeds from the match will go to people who have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The 3TC format will see three teams playing against each other in the same contest.

Here are the three teams which will take part in the 3TC Format:

AB’s Eagles: AB de Villiers (c), Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala

Quinny’s Kites: Quinton de Kock (c), David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Anrich Nortje, Dwayne Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla

KG’s Kingfishers: Kagiso Rabada (c), Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenton Stuurman

There are special rules for the 3TCricket format. The following are the rules taken from the official 3team.cricket website:

  1. Each match consists of 3 teams of 8 players each.
  2. The 36-over match is split into two 18-over halves. There is also a break at half-time.
  3. Each innings of a team is 12 overs long. The two opposing teams will bowl 6 overs each.
  4. In the first half of the game, the three teams rotate between BATTING, BOWLING, and DUGOUT. The starting positions of the three teams are determined by a draw.
  5. In the second half of the game, teams bat in descending order of the scores in the first half, and if scores are tied, the first half order is reversed.
  6. After the 7th wicket falls, the last batsman can bat alone but can only score in even numbers of runs. However, if the 7th wicket falls in the first half, the team has to forego the remaining balls in that half. The last batsman resumes his team’s innings in the second half.
  7. Bowling teams will be given one new ball for all their 12 overs. This ball will be used for both teams they bowl too.
  8. Each bowler can bowl a maximum of 3 overs. These 3 overs can be split across both innings, and in any permutation to either of the two opponents. An uncompleted overdue to the fall of the 7th wicket will be filled with dot balls on the scorecard.
  9. 3 additional fielders are allowed in the game since each team has only 8 players. These can be selected by each team or provided by the DUGOUT opposition, in which case fielding restrictions may be applied.
  10. Cricket rules for wides, no-balls and bouncers apply.
  11. Rain-hampered games can only be shortened to 18, 24 or 30 overs. A formula has been laid down by 3TC in this regard.
  12. The teams in descending order of runs win Gold, Silver and Bronze respectively. If 2 teams tie with most runs, a Super Over will decide who wins the Gold. If all 3 teams tie, all get Gold while if there is a tie for second place, Silver is shared.

Latest Posts