Home Cricket News Defending Champions India to Face Pakistan on this day; Check Asia Cup 2018 Schedule

Defending Champions India to Face Pakistan on this day; Check Asia Cup 2018 Schedule


The schedule for the 2018 Asia Cup to be held in the United Arab Emirates has been announced today. This time it will be played in 50 overs format. Last time in 2016 edition, the Asia Cup was played in T20 format keeping in mind the World T20.

This is the most prestigious tournament in Asia. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan qualified directly into the main tournament. In the qualifying tournament, the winner from Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Singapore and UAE will qualify for the main tournament.

©Associated Press

India will enter the tournament as the defending Champions beating Bangladesh by 8 wickets in the finals of Asia Cup 2016 held in Bangladesh. Team India has won the Asia Cup 6 times, followed by Sri Lanka 5 times and Pakistan two times. The first time the Asia Cup started was in 1984.

©Getty Images

Group A comprises of defending Champions India, Pakistan and the winner of qualifying tournament. The other group is a tough group with Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.

(Photo by AP /A.M. Ahad)

It is going to be a massive chance for team India to showcase their talent and solve their middle order problem before much tougher overseas tours.


The tournament begins on 15th September and finishes on 28th September. From the six teams, two teams will be eliminated and then the Super fours tournament will begin.

(Pic Source: Getty Images/ ICC)

This tournament will see arch-rivals India and Pakistan take on each other. It provides a chance for other teams like Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh to give a tough fight. Afghanistan has improved a lot in limited overs version and could be a surprise package in the tournament.

©Sportsfile via Getty Images

Here we look at the Asia Cup 2018 schedule

  1. Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka (15th September)- Dubai
  2. Pakistan vs. TBA (16th September)- Dubai
  3. Sri Lanka vs. Afghanistan (17th September)- Abu Dhabi
  4. India vs. TBA (18th September)- Dubai
  5. India vs. Pakistan (19th September)- Dubai
  6. Sri Lanka vs. Bangladesh (20th September)- Abu Dhabi
  7. Super 4 ( A vs. D)- (21st September)- Dubai
  8. Super 4 ( B vs. C)- (21st September)- Abu Dhabi
  9. Super 4 ( A vs. B)- (23rd September)- Dubai
  10. Super 4 ( C vs. D)- (23rd September)- Abu Dhabi
  11. Super 4 ( A vs. C)- (25th September)- Dubai
  12. Super 4 ( B vs. D )- (26th September)- Abu Dhabi
  13. Final (28th September)- Dubai


Latest Posts