Home Cricket News DY Patil outclasses New Hind, wins the Purshottam Shield Tournament’20

DY Patil outclasses New Hind, wins the Purshottam Shield Tournament’20


Played at the PJ Hindu Gymkhana, New Hind Sporting Club batting first posted a total of 239/10 in 55 overs. After losing a few quick wickets at the middle order, it was Parikshit Valsangkar at no.7 who top scored for New Hind scoring 92 runs in 99 balls. It was an innings where Parikshit displayed quite some confidence with the bat hitting 12 fours and 3 sixes. From DY Patil, it was Mumbai’s all rounder Sairaj Patil emerging the star bowler with a spell of 6/46 in 11 overs.

DY Patil on the back of their openers Kaustubh Pawar (66 off 141) and Sumit Ghadigaonkar (51 off 65) were off to a brilliant start. Siddarth Chitnis at the middle order smashed a fine half century while Pravi Tambe who is more known for his bowling heroics this time showed his batting skills smashing an unbeaten 50* off 70 balls which pushed DY Patil to a total of 261 runs in 70 overs with a 1st innings lead of 22 runs.

New Hind SC in their 2nd innings scored 244/10 with Bhavin Thakkar (57) and Sachin Yadav (73) scoring half centuries. Sairaj Patil took another 3 wkts in the 2nd innings making it a 9 wkt haul in the match. DY Patil on the other hand batted for 41 overs scoring 205/8 at the end of the game’s play where they were declared winners on the basis of 1st innings lead. In the 2nd innings, Hitesh Chauhan played a very crucial knock of 78 runs which kept DY Patil alive in the game.

Result- DY Patil win on 1st innings. Hashir Dafedar with 302 runs highest run scorer of the tournament while Akshay Darekar with 14 wkts emerged the highest wicket taker of the tournament.


Latest Posts