Home Cricket News ECB announced a hectic 2017 summer schedule

ECB announced a hectic 2017 summer schedule


ECB announced a hectic 2017 summer schedule: The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced an action-packed cricket calendar next summer and revealed all the dates and venues. England are to host a world event next year- the ICC Champions Trophy. Apart from that three teams will be touring the country for bilateral series- South Africa, Ireland and West Indies.

The 2017 summer for English cricket will kick-off with the two-match One-Day International series against Ireland to be played on 5th and 7th May in Bristol and London respectively. This will be followed by the three ODIs for the South Africa series just before the Champions Trophy. The ODIs are to be played on May 24, 27 and 29 with matches scheduled at Headingley, Ageas Bowl and Lord”s.

Then the ICC Champions Trophy will get underway on 1st June and run until 18 June 2017. South Africa and England will again resume bilateral ties after the tournament and it will time for some T20 action. The three Twenty20 Internationals will be played on June 21, 23 and 25 at The Ageas Bowl, Taunton and Cardiff. In July, England will be up for the four-match Test series against South Africa which will get underway with the first Test at Lord’s between 6th and 10th July. Trent Bridge, The Kia Oval and Emirates Old Trafford will host the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Test on 14-18 July, 27-31 July and 4-8 August respectively.

England then get ready for the Caribbean challenge. West Indies arrive for a three-Test series that starts on August 17. Edgbaston will host the first Test, 2nd Test by Headingley from 25 August, while the third and final Test will be played at Lord”s from September 7. The One-off T20 Internationals will be played on 16 September at Chester-le-Street. The five ODIs will be played on 19th, 21st, 24th, 27th and 29th September in Manchester, Nottingham, Bristol, London, and Southampton respectively. The ECB has also announced the dates for the finals of the domestic limited overs tournaments – the NatWest Twenty20 Blast and the Royal London One-Day Cup on September 2 and July 1 respectively.

ECB’s chief executive, Tom Harrison said: “With three different international teams coming here next summer and this country playing host to two major ICC global events – the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Women’s World Cup – there will be a feast of international cricket to excite us in England and Wales. Both the international and domestic schedule will have a different shape to previous years. And the early season block for the Royal London One-Day Cup – with a new mid-season date for its Lord’s final – will support both England’s ICC Champions Trophy preparations and our longer term planning for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It will also allow players to focus skills on the white ball game and help more people to understand the structure of the season.”

Full Fixtures for International Cricket in England 2017

England vs Ireland

May 5: 1st ODI at Bristol
May 7: 2nd ODI at Lord”s

England vs South Africa

May 24: 1st ODI at Headingley
May 27: 2nd ODI at The Ageas Bowl
May 29: 3rd ODI at Lord”s

ICC Champions Trophy

June 1 to June 18

England vs South Africa

June 21: 1st T20I at The Ageas Bowl
June 23: 2nd T20I at Taunton
June 25: 3rd T20I at Cardiff

July 6-July 10: 1st Test at Lord”s
July 14-July 18: 2nd Test at Trent Bridge
July 27-July 31: 3rd Test at The Oval
August 4- August 8: 4th Test at Old Trafford

England vs West Indies

August 17- August 21: 1st Test at Edgbaston
August 25-August 29: 2nd Test at Headingley
September 7-September 11: 3rd Test at Lord”s

September 16: Only T20I at Emirates Riverside

September 19: 1st ODI at Old Trafford
September 21: 2nd ODI at Trent Bridge
September 24: 3rd ODI at Bristol
September 27: 4th ODI at The Oval
September 29: 5th ODI at The Ageas Bowl


Latest Posts