Home Cricket News England Announce 15-Member Squad For ODI Series Against Australia

England Announce 15-Member Squad For ODI Series Against Australia

England Announce 15-Member Squad For ODI Series Against Australia
England cricket team (Credit: Twitter)

Arch-rivals England and Australia will lock horns in a three-match one-day international series after the completion of the T20 World Cup. England have announced their squad for the series in Australia on Tuesday, October 25.

The selectors have left out Mark Wood and Liam Livingstone. Wood seems to have been rested for this series. Livingstone, who was a part of the squad against India earlier this year, has been dropped.

England have recalled James Vince and Sam Billings. Vince and Billings’s last outing in this format for England was against Pakistan and Sri Lanka the previous year. Vince was seen scoring his maiden century in ODIS in his last encounter.

Jason Roy returns to England’s ODI squad

Jason Roy, who was dropped from the shortest format for England due to poor form, is also a part of this squad. The English hope that his long streak of low scores and poor form ends in this series, given how crucial he is for them at the top of the order in ODIs, given that the 50 overs World Cup is next year in India.

Olly Stone, who last played an ODI in 2018, and Chris Jordan, who is a T20 specialist for England and has not played a game in this format in the last couple of years. Most of the squad is already in Australia playing in the T20 World Cup.

Australia hasn’t announced their squad for this series. This series will mark the debut of Pat Cummins as captain for Australia in this format, taking over the reins from Aaron Finch, who retired after the home series against New Zealand.

Squad: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood

England vs Australia – Schedule:

1st ODI: 17th November, Adelaide Oval
2nd ODI: 19th November, Sydney Cricket Ground
3rd ODI: 21st November, Melbourne Cricket Ground

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts