Home Cricket News England vs Sri Lanka 2021, 1st ODI: Squads, Schedule, And Broadcast Details

England vs Sri Lanka 2021, 1st ODI: Squads, Schedule, And Broadcast Details

England vs Sri Lanka 2021, 1st ODI: Squads, Schedule, And Broadcast Details

The first ODI between England and Sri Lanka will be played on Tuesday, June 29. This will be part of their 3-match ODI series and will be played at the Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street.

The previous meeting between the sides was in the 2019 ODI World cup. Sri Lanka sprung a surprise back then, defeating England by 20 runs. However, the times have changed now.

The hosts England, are flying high following their 3-0 whitewash of the Lankans in the shortest format. They are seemingly unbeatable while playing at home. Although this series is redundant in the year of the T20 World Cup, England will look to take their winning momentum forward. They’ll be happy with the return to form of the No.1 T20 batsman, Dawid Malan. Owing to Jos Buttler’s injury, Malan was added to the ODI squad where he’ll look to seize the opportunity if provided.

Sri Lanka on the other hand, have been digging their hole deeper and deeper. They need to find a way back into the scheme of things before the downward spiral continues. The Lankans will have to cut out the noise from the outside regardless of how loud it’s getting. They need to start fresh in the ODI series and will be looking for some inspiration from their skipper Kusal Perera. Wanindu Hasaranga impressed in the T20’s and will be keen on replicating his performance in the ODI’s.

England vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI: Broadcast Details

England – Sky Sports (11:00 am)

India– Sony Sports Network (3:30 pm)

Australia– Fox Sports/ Channel 7

New Zealand– Sky Sport 2

Caribbean– Flow Sports

US- Willow TV

Bangladesh– Gazi TV

Squads for the 1st ODI


England squad

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Dawid Malan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Adil Rashid,  David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Sri Lanka:

Sri Lankan squad

Kusal Perera (c), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.


Latest Posts