Home INDvENG ENGvIND: Prithvi Shaw and Hanuma Vihari included in India’s 18-man squad for...

ENGvIND: Prithvi Shaw and Hanuma Vihari included in India’s 18-man squad for the remaining two Tests

(Photo By PTI /Shailendra Bhojak)

The BCCI have announced the 18 man squad for last two test matches against England to be played at Southampton from 30th August and the 5th test match to be played at Oval, London.

Prithvi Shaw who scored big runs in India A tour of England in 4-day matches has been included in the squad replacing Murali Vijay. Prithvi Shaw led India to Under 19 title this year beating Australia in the finals to become the new champions of the world.

All you need to know about the next rising Star of Indian Cricket – Prithvi Shaw

Prithvi Shaw also performed well in the IPL 11 season playing for Delhi Daredevils. He scored 245 runs from 9 matches with 2 half centuries. His performance in first-class cricket has been outstanding with 7 centuries and 5 half centuries. While opening the innings for India A, Prithvi Shaw scored 188 against West Indies A, 62 against England Lions at Worcester and 136 against South Africa A at Bangalore.

(Photo By PTI /Shailendra Bhojak)

Murali Vijay who was dropped for the 3rd test match at Trent Bridge did not score many runs for India in the first two test matches. The other change is Hanuma Vihari who has been in superb form in the domestic circuit and for India A also has been also included in the test squad replacing Kuldeep Yadav. Kuldeep Yadav has been sent back home to play two four day matches against Australia A at Vizag.

Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, Indian Cricket team made a great comeback to win the third test match at Trent Bridge by 203 runs to leave the 5 test match series at 1-2 in favour of England. In this match, the Indian Cricket team produced a dominating performance to outplay the hosts in all departments.

Prithvi Shaw © Getty Images

Virat Kohli was named the man of the match for 97 and 103 in the 3rd test match at Trent Bridge. India lost the first test match by 31 runs at Edgbaston while lost 2nd test match at Lords by an innings and 159 runs.

Murali Vijay has been dropped from the Indian team (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

All the Indian batsmen apart from Virat Kohli came back into form. Rahane scored 81 runs in the first innings, Pujara made 72 in the 2nd innings.  In the bowling department, all pace bowlers including Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya bowled brilliantly in this test match.

Indian Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Prithivi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Rahane, Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik  Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Karun Nair, Hanuma Vihari.