Home Twitter Reactions Fans Upset Over Alex Hales’ Exclusion From England’s Squad Against Pakistan

Fans Upset Over Alex Hales’ Exclusion From England’s Squad Against Pakistan

Alex Hales

The England cricket team defeated Sri Lanka in the limited-overs international series at home and are all set to play another limited-overs series against Pakistan starting from July 8.

On Tuesday, the England Cricket Board reported that seven members from the England contingent for the Pakistan series have tested positive for Covid-19. All the members are currently in isolation as the rest were deemed as close contacts. The England board announced a new fresh squad, with Ben stokes as the skipper. The squad includes nine uncapped players. However, Alex Hales, England’s opening batsman has again been left out.

Former England Batsman Michael Vaughan expressed his frustration over Alex Hales’ non-selection. He tweeted:

So No Alex Hales … that must be the end of his international career then … find it very sad that someone who made a huge mistake but was punished can’t be given another go … we all mistakes every week … !!! Those that say they don’t are lying … #OnOn”

Alex Hales’ exclusion has left the fans upset as tweets started pouring in, criticizing the English team.

England’s 18 member squad for the Pakistan series

Ben Stokes will lead the 18-member squad against Pakistan. Stokes will play his first international match after recovering from the injury. He fractured his left index finger while playing for the Rajasthan Royals.

ECB‘s Chief Executive Officer, Tom Harrison said:

“Overnight we have worked swiftly to identify a new squad, and we are grateful to Ben Stokes who will return to England duties to Captain. We also recognize the impact this news will have on our First-Class Counties and their Men’s playing squads and thank them, along with our partners Sky and Royal London, for their ongoing support in dealing with this pandemic.”

England’s squad for the limited-overs series against Pakistan: Ben Stokes (C), Jake Ball, Danny Briggs, Brydon Carse, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Lewis Gregory, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dan Lawrence, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, David Payne, Phil Salt, John Simpson, James Vince.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.