DRS yet again played spoilsport in the Boxing-Day Test match between Australia and India in Melbourne. Marnus Lauschagne and Joe Burns were eventually ruled not out after the on-field umpire did not give them out and the decision stood, despite the replays showing the ball would have gone onto hit the stumps. This mistake from the on-field umpires made former cricketers very angry as they called out against the ‘Umpire’s Call’ option in DRS.
Just before, he was eventually dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin, Lauschagne survived a close call of the bowling of Mohammed Siraj. Despite the replays showing that the ball would have hit the stumps, he was given not out as the on-field umpires ruled him not out.
Thus this debate around how the DRS actually works and the importance of Umpires Call has been questioned once again. In the process, India were denied the wickets of Joe Burns and Lauschagne. Sachin Tendulkar was one of the first former cricketers to pick up the point and start the debate. Seeing his tweet, reactions started pouring in from others as well.
Meanwhile, Australia are on the back foot, with the loss of key wickets. They lost Marnus Lauschagne at the stroke of tea and Steve Smith just after tea as he found another interesting way to get himself out. He was dismissed around his legs as the ball clipped one the bails.
Talks about DRS call came upon his dismissal as well. Sanjay Manjrekar, part of the Sony Sports commentary team questioned if the umpires would have ruled him out if he was not eventually dismissed and there was an LBW appeal against him.
Meanwhile, this is how the Twitterverse reacted to the controversial DRS call.
The reason players opt for a review is because they’re unhappy with the decision taken by the on-field umpire.
The DRS system needs to be thoroughly looked into by the @ICC, especially for the ‘Umpires Call’.#AUSvIND
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) December 28, 2020
— Wasim Jaffer (@WasimJaffer14) December 28, 2020
The vexatious “UMPIRE’S CALL”? #AUSvIND
— Pragyan Ojha (@pragyanojha) December 28, 2020
— Aravindaseshadri (@sraravinda) December 28, 2020
Umpire’s call is debatable. If technology shows the ball hitting the stumps it should be OUT! That’s my personal opinion. If the ball just brushes the stumps & the bails fall it’s out clean bowled. Same should be applicable for lbw decisions too using technology
— Sarang Bhalerao (@bhaleraosarang) December 28, 2020
— Sumit Kendre (@sumit1921_) December 28, 2020
Warne is right, in a review, take the #UmpiresCall away. If it’s hitting, you’re out, if it’s missing, you’re not out.
— WestSide 8345 (@tauhenare) December 28, 2020