Home Twitter Reactions “Gabba Day” – Fans Celebrate Second Anniversary Of 2021 Border Gavaskar Trophy Series Win

“Gabba Day” – Fans Celebrate Second Anniversary Of 2021 Border Gavaskar Trophy Series Win

“Gabba Day” – Fans Celebrate Second Anniversary Of 2021 Border Gavaskar Trophy Series Win
AP: Tertius Pickard

Team India registered a historic win against Australia on January 19, 2021, in the 2020-21 Border Gavaskar Trophy. They breached the fortress of Gabba, with an inexperienced team, under the leadership of Ajinkya Rahane, to achieve the iconic victory. The team was without most of the regular players, such as the likes of Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin, etc for the final test.

With the series at 1-1, Australian skipper Tim Paine won the toss and opted to bat first. They put on 369 runs on the board on the back of Marnus Labuschagne’s 108 runs, and fifty from the skipper. T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur, and Washington Sundar picked up three wickets for India. In response, the Indian team failed to take the first-innings lead. Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar’s fifties took them to 336 runs.

Australia looked to capitalize on the 33-runs lead secured in the first innings. They could manage 294 runs in the third innings, as Mohammed Siraj picked up a five-wicket haul. Needing 327 runs, India’s chase was dealt with an early blow, as opener Rohit Sharma was dismissed early. However, Shubman Gill kept the fight on, scoring 91 runs off 146 deliveries. His 114 runs stand with Cheteshwar Pujara kept India’s hopes alive.

After their dismissals, the visitors were again in a spot of bother. What followed is considered one of the best passages of play by India in red-ball cricket. Rishabh Pant with his unbeaten 89 runs knock, led India to a three-wicket win over Australia at the Gabba.

Let’s take a look at how fans celebrated the second anniversary of India’s Border Gavaskar Trophy win on Twitter: 

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 between India and Australia kicks off in February

The four-match Test series between India and Australia in the Border Gavaskar Trophy will begin on February 9 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, in Nagpur. The second test will take place in Delhi, while Dharmasala and Ahmedabad will host the final two games. The visitors will be keen to earn back the trophy, as Team India has won the last three editions of the iconic series.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts