Home Cricket News Ganguly signs up for Libra Legends in Masters Champions League

Ganguly signs up for Libra Legends in Masters Champions League


Ganguly signs up for Libra Legends: Sourav Ganguly, the former India captain and left-handed batsman will join a bunch of retired cricket legends in the first edition of the Masters Champions League, the T20 tournament to be held in UAE in January 2016. Among the retired cricket legends, Virender Sehwag, Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Michael Vaughan are the big names.

(For general information, Masters Champions League and All Stars League are two different tournaments hosted by different groups)


Sourav Ganguly has signed up for the Libra Legends, the first franchise of the six teams to be featuring in the tournament approved by ICC. The team is owned by Pooja Jhunjhunwala, Lalit Kiri and Hanwant Khatri of Popcorn Sports & Entertainment Private Limited.

This franchise-based league for ex-cricketers will feature ‘masters’ such as Adam Gilchrist, Wasim Akram, Brain Lara, Virender Sehwag, Shoaib Akhtar, Brett Lee, Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis and Mahela Jayawardene.

There were reports that next franchises of this high-voltage tournament will be owned by Bollywood actors Shah Rukh Khan and Sanjay Dutt.

The tournament that is to be played in three grounds – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi”s Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium will kick-start from January 28 next year and will run until February 14. This tournament will comprise six teams in its first edition, with a total of 90 players taking part in 15-member squads.

Libra Legends’ jersey and logo was unveiled at a ceremony couple of days back and the owners expressed their gladness to have Ganguly in their side.

Latest Posts