With the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) round the corner, the buzz has already started. The franchises have started preparations to leave for the UAE. Amid all growing excitement, star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has picked all-time IPL XI.

As India continue to fight it COVID-19, UAE will host IPL 2020 starting from September 19. This is the second time after 2014 when the tournament moves out of the country. Ahead of the much-awaited season, Glenn Maxwell named his IPL XI during a chat with Harsha Bhogle for Cricbuzz.

The veteran all-rounder picked a plethora of overseas cricketers in his lists. However, one surprising omission from the chart was Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma. The swashbuckling batsman is one of the highest run-scorers with the league along with four titles under his belt.

MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, IPL, Ashish Nehra

(Credits – Twitter)

Maxwell picked countrymen David Warner to open the innings along with Virat Kohli. AB de Villiers, Suresh Raina, and Glenn Maxwell himself form the middle-order followed star finishers in Andre Russell and MS Dhoni.

Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh in the lone spinner in the side with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohit Sharma to share the duties of a fast bowler. Mohit’s selection rang a few surprises but the medium-pacer played key roles alongside Maxwell in Kings XI Punjab side.

IPL XI of Glenn Maxwell

David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Suresh Raina, Glenn Maxwell, Andre Russell, MS Dhoni (WK), Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohit Sharma

Meanwhile, Australian and England cricketers will miss the start of IPL 2020 as they have to undergo the mandatory isolation period upon reaching UAE. Arch-rivals Australia and England will lock horns in the UK in a limited-overs series before coming to feature in the IPL.

They will remain in quarantine for seven days and will have to undergo three COVID-19 tests before they can unite with the side.