Home Cricket News Glenn Maxwell To Miss ODI Series Against England Due To Fracture

Glenn Maxwell To Miss ODI Series Against England Due To Fracture

Glenn Maxwell To Miss ODI Series Against England Due To Fracture
Australia will play a multi-format series against Sri Lanka

With the T20 World Cup done and dusted, champion England will play a three-match ODI series against Australia to prepare for the next year’s 50-over World Cup in India. Australia already has faced a setback in terms of the injury of Glenn Maxwell, who is sidelined for a substantial period of time.

Maxwell slipped and fractured his left fibula at a birthday party. He also underwent surgery for this on Sunday. Cricket Australia has named pace bowler Sean Abbott as a replacement for the Victorian all-rounder. 

Chairman of selectors George Bailey has shared his view on this matter. He said that Glenn Maxwell has the full backing of the management throughout the rehabilitation. 

“Glenn is in good spirits. It was an unfortunate accident and we feel for Glenn in the circumstances, given he was in great touch in his last few games. Glenn is a critical part of our white ball structure and we will continue to support him through his recovery and rehabilitation,” Bailey said. 

The upcoming ODI series against England will be Pat Cummins’ first outing as captain for Australia in the ODI setup after taking over the captaincy from Aaron Finch who retired earlier this year from this format.

England have recalled players like Sam Billings and James Vince back to this format. Vince and Billings’ last ODI appearance came in 2021 against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Mark Wood has been rested for the three-match series

Squads of Australia and England

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (C), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (WK), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Sean Abbott, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

England squad: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood

Schedule for the series:

1st ODI: 17th November – Adelaide

2nd ODI: 19th November – Sydney

3rd ODI: 22nd November – Melbourne

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts