Home Cricket News Groups for the upcoming Ranji Trophy 2017/18 announced

Groups for the upcoming Ranji Trophy 2017/18 announced

The groups for upcoming 2017/18 Ranji Trophy season have been announced. In this edition, 28 teams are being divided into four groups with 7 sides in each group. According to the format, from each group, two teams will qualify for the quarter finals. In the previous editions, 3 teams from A and B qualified with top teams and two from Group C as the lower ranked sides.

The Ranji Trophy 2017/18 season will begin on 6th October. Each team would play two games less in the league stage. This has been done to reduce the workload of pacers who tire after a hectic season. It is going to be a great tournament with great quality of cricket.

In Group A, Karnataka, Delhi, Assam, Maharashtra, Hyderabad, Uttar Pradesh and Railways have been clubbed together. Last year, Karnataka and Hyderabad reached the quarter finals stage.

Group B comprises of last year semi finalist, Jharkhand, defending Champions Gujarat, Kerala, Saurashtra, quarter finalist Haryana, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir. Gujarat defeated Mumbai in the finals last year. Jharkhand lost to Gujarat in the semi finals.

In Group C, last year semi-finalist Mumbai, Tamil Nadu who faced Mumbai in the semi finals, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Baroda, and Odisha. Mumbai have won Ranji Trophy tournament 41 times.

To complete with group D, Himachal Pradesh, Vidarbha, Punjab, Bengal, Services, Goa and Chhattisgarh.

“Seven teams in each group will balance the tournament nicely, unlike the previous format (10+10+9). Most importantly, this format will help us manage the workload of the bowlers, particularly the pacers, in a better way. To keep the workload of pacers and Sehwag suggestion, the BCCI has made all efforts to keep four-day gaps between games.

Ranji Trophy is the prestigious tournament in India where top players participate. Gujarat won the Ranji trophy title for the very first time last year. The quarter final stage would begin from 7th-11 December, followed by Semi-finals from 17th-21st December. The finals will take place from 29th December to 2nd January. Duleep Trophy has been scrapped.

Group A: Karnataka, Assam, Delhi, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Railways
Group B: Jharkhand, Gujarat, Saurashtra, Haryana, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir
Group C: Mumbai, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha
Group D: Himachal Pradesh, Vidarbha, Punjab, Bengal, Services, Goa, Chattisgarh