Home Cricket News Here is the full schedule Of New Zealand”s 2017-18 home season

Here is the full schedule Of New Zealand”s 2017-18 home season

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced their schedule for the 2017-18 home season earlier today. Over a span of 43 days, they are scheduled to play West Indies, Pakistan, England, and Australia.  Keeping in mind the new format being accepted in the World Test Championship, the board official has decided to play only two tests when an away team visits.

New Zealand Cricket chief, David White said that if International Cricket Council (ICC) introduces the Test Championship in 2020, future tours will have to follow the same pattern. As per the rules of Test Championship, a minimum of two home and away Tests series must be played by the nine Test-playing nations each year.

“We’re hopeful in October the new Test match championship will be signed off (by the International Cricket Council), In terms of format, what we’re likely to see in the future is two tours, each comprising two Tests, three ODIs, and three T20s. That will be the standard schedule for an international season, 32 days of cricket,” the NZC chief David White said while talking about the two test format.

This season New Zealand play their first day-night Test at Auckland’s Eden Park ©Getty Images/AFP

New Zealand will start off their home season with a two test match series against West Indies, followed by three ODI’s and three T-20s starting from December. Then they will take on Pakistan for a five match ODI series and three T-20s.  They are also scheduled to play a first triangular T-20 series including Australia and England. Australia and New Zealand both are scheduled to hold the matches with final to be played at Eden Park, Auckland.

The citizens of New Zealand might also witness the first pink ball test to be played against England at Eden Park, Auckland. It is scheduled to be played between 22-26 March. However, as of now, lights are not allowed to use on Sunday’s at this venue.  England is also set to play two Tests and five ODI’s.

“It’s critical for the future of test cricket at Eden Park, definitely. In terms of day-night test matches, we’re confident it’s going to go well and it’s going to have a big part in the future of the international program,” White added.

U-19 World Cup is also set to take place in January, with the West Indies women’s team touring New Zealand in March next year. However, the schedule is due to be finalized.

New Zealand schedule for season 2017-18

Windies Tour of New Zealand: 1st December to 3rd January

Pakistan Tour of New Zealand: 6th January to 28th January

T20 Trans-Tasman Triangular Series: 3rd February to 21st February

England Tour of New Zealand: 25th February to 3rd April