Home Cricket News Here is what the 2007 World T20 heroes are up to these...

Here is what the 2007 World T20 heroes are up to these days

The 2007 WT20 triumph is an integral part of Indian Cricket folklore, more so because nobody expected India to win, not even BCCI! It is clear from the fact that BCCI casually sent a relatively inexperienced side for the all important event, making a young and naive MS Dhoni the captain. Little did anyone know that time that it would turn out to be a masterstroke!!

Senior players like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Anil Kumble were left out. The onus was on players like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and MS Dhoni who had already established themselves in the Indian side to carry the team forward.

Some youngsters like Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan were handed an opportunity to express themselves on the biggest stage. India went on to win the title beating Pakistan by 5 runs at Bullring. 10 years later what are the WT20 heroes doing in their life? Where has destiny taken them to? Here”s a look what they are doing today!

©Getty Images

Here”s a look what they are doing today :- 

Indian squad: MS Dhoni (C/WK), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh, Sreesanth, Joginder Sharma.

Players who are still in Indian team: MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Karthik.

Players who have retired – Virender Sehwag, Ajit Agarkar

– by Atharva Apte