Home Cricket News ICC Aims For Two India-Pakistan Matches In World Cup, Says Basit Ali

ICC Aims For Two India-Pakistan Matches In World Cup, Says Basit Ali

ICC Aims For Two India-Pakistan Matches In World Cup, Says Basit Ali

Basit Ali, a former Pakistan cricketer, has suggested that the International Cricket Council (ICC) is aiming for India and Pakistan to face each other twice in the upcoming T20 World Cup. According to Basit, “They have made the schedule so the two teams can meet again either in the semi-final or final.”

This marks a significant moment as India and Pakistan haven’t engaged in a bilateral series since 2012, limiting their encounters to major international tournaments. The highly anticipated clash between the two Asian powerhouses is set to take place on June 9 in New York, and the event has already generated significant excitement.

Ticket prices have soared, and the viewership is expected to break previous records. Amid this frenzy, Basit Ali’s claims have added another layer of intrigue to the tournament. India and Pakistan are both placed in Group A of the T20 World Cup. The top two teams from this group will advance to the Super 8 stage, followed by the semi-finals.

Basit Ali believes that the tournament’s schedule makes it likely that the two teams will meet again in the knockout stages. He noted, “It is imperative that another Indo-Pak clash will take place given the scheduling of fixtures in the tournament.”

Discussing the current form of the teams, Basit pointed out, “The Indian team appears rock solid, same could not be said about the Pakistan camp given their form.” He emphasized the importance of performance, highlighting that “Pakistan is a bit low on their form, while India, on the other hand, has played IPL and looks in good shape. For Pakistan to perform well, Babar must open.”

India and Pakistan’s other competitors in Group A include Ireland, Canada, and the United States of America. Both teams are expected to advance past the group stage, making a potential second meeting in the knockout rounds a strong possibility. The squads for the tournament have been announced, adding to the anticipation.

India Squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts