Home Cricket News ICC announced Test and ODI teams of the year

ICC announced Test and ODI teams of the year



ICC announced Test and ODI teams of the year: ICC announced on Wednesday the Test and ODI teams of the year 2015. As every year, the list of players were revealed by a specially appointed selection panel headed by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India spinner Anil Kumble.

The selection panel included past greats of the world game including former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women”s captain Belinda Clark and India’s Mr. G. Viswanath.


Surprisingly the leading wicket-taker in Tests in 2015 – Ravichandran Ashwin could not make it to the final Test XI and instead he”ll carry the drinks as 12th man. England’s Alastair Cook will lead the Test team. Stuart Broad makes it to the list fifth time since 2009. Three Pakistani players make a cut in the XI- Younis, Sarfraz and Yasir Shah winning against Ashwin for the lone spinner’s slot.

No one made it to the Test side from the No.1 Test team currently- South Africa.

ICC Test Team (2015) according to batting order

  1. Alastair Cook (Eng) (C)
  2. David Warner (Aus)
  3. Kane Williamson (NZ)
  4. Steven Smith (Aus)
  5. Younis Khan (Pak)
  6. Joe Root (Eng)
  7. Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (WK)
  8. Stuart Broad (Eng)
  9. Trent Boult (NZ)
  10. Josh Hazlewood (Aus)
  11. Yasir Shah (Pak)

12th Man: Ravi Ashwin (Ind)

In the ODI XI, South Africa’s superstar AB de Villiers was selected for the fourth time since 2011 and this time he will lead the side. Kumar Sangakkara who retired after the WC 2011 was selected as a wicket-keeper alongside his Lankan teammate Tillakaratne Dilshan. Mohammed Shami is the lone Indian to make a cut in the ODI XI.

Australia’s Steve Smith and Kiwi bowling spearhead Trent Boult are the only ones who were named in both the teams.

ICC ODI Team (2015) according to batting order

  1. Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

  1. Hashim Amla (SA)

  1. Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (WK)

  1. Steven Smith (Aus)

  1. AB de Villiers (SA) (C)

  1. Ross Taylor (NZ)

  1. Mitchell Starc (Aus)

  1. Trent Boult (NZ)

  1. Mohammed Shami (Ind)

  1. Mustafizur Rahman (Ban)

  1. Imran Tahir (SA)

12th Man: Joe Root (Eng)




Latest Posts