Home Cricket News ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Groups and Fixtures

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Groups and Fixtures


ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Groups and Fixtures: Defending champions India will be locking horns against arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening cricket match of the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy on June 4 2017. The two countries were placed in the same group (Group B) along with South Africa and Sri Lanka for the event to be held in England. The 18-day tournament will run from June 1 to June 18, 2017.

Rivals England, Australia and New Zealand are placed in Group A along with the emerging Bangladesh. Hosts England to face Bangladesh in tournament opener at The Oval on 1st June. 15 matches to be played over 18 days at three venues (Edgbaston, Cardiff and Oval); The Oval to stage the final on 18 June.

The two teams finishing at the top from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on 14 and 15 June respectively, with The Oval hosting the final on Sunday (June 18). There is a reserve day for the final.

Announcing the schedule, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The ICC Champions Trophy is a short and sharp event, which is followed and enjoyed by the spectators and players alike.

“The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is not just an ODI competition, it carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date. As such, every point earned here could be crucial.”

Previous winners

1998* – South Africa
2000* – New Zealand
2002 – Sri Lanka and India
2004 – West Indies
2006 – Australia
2009 – Australia
2013 – India


Australia India
New Zealand South Africa
England Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Pakistan


Full Schedule of ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Date Match Venue
Jun-01 England vs Bangladesh The Oval
Jun-02  Australia vs New Zealand Edgbaston
Jun-03 Sri Lanka vs South Africa The Oval
Jun-04 India vs Pakistan Edgbaston
Jun-05  Australia vs Bangladesh The Oval
Jun-06 England vs New Zealand Cardiff
Jun-07 Pakistan vs South Africa, Edgbaston Edgbaston
Jun-08  India vs Sri Lanka The Oval
Jun-09 New Zealand vs Bangladesh Cardiff
Jun-10 England vs Australia Edgbaston
Jun-11 India vs South Africa The Oval
Jun-12 Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Cardiff
Jun-14 First semi-final (A1 v B2) Cardiff
Jun-15 Second semi-final (A2 v B1) Edgbaston
Jun-18 Final, The Oval The Oval
Jun-19 Reserve day


Latest Posts